Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-27-2014, 12:31 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to sular47
slides malfunction

My slides will only move 6 inches then stop. The batteries appeared to be low so I took them to Napa and they were actually bad. Put two new batteries in and every thing worked. Got to my next destination 100 miles away, the problem was back. Ran the generator 4 hours and the problem was still there. Checked the inverter and it was putting out 13.6 volts. but apparently not charging the batteries. If I run the coach engine it will charge the house batteries just enough to get the slide back in. I'm in Stuart, Florida. 1. could the inverter be back even though it putting out 13.6 volts?' 2. anyone have a suggestion on what to check next?
__________________

__________________
sular47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 01:12 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to sular47
Quick update.... I started jumping out stuff between the batteries and the hyd. pump. found a bad Hi- amp buss 120 amp passing voltage but would only let a small amount of amperage through. whoopee! Thanks
__________________

__________________
sular47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 01:53 PM   #3
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
how did you find that out.? Sounds like some good sleuthing.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 07:15 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to sular47
In my younger days I was an electrician. A blown fuse will sometimes allow voltage to pass through it in the dust residue, but can not carry the amperage.
( amperage does the work) This buss fuss allowed a tiny amount of amperage through, just enough to move the slide a little and confuse you..that's all I got!
__________________
sular47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2014, 08:44 PM   #5
WDK
Senior Member
 
WDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: San Jacinto
Posts: 255
Did that fuse ohm out as a direct short or a medium to high reading? I am getting to be an old electrician but in my 27 years of learning and experience, I have never seen or heard of fuse blowing and still "working" even a little.

WDK
__________________
WDK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 05:41 AM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to sular47
It is actually not a fuse...It's a high-amp buss 120 amp. sorry for the confusion. I have seen 200 and 300 amp fuses in a buss duct pass voltage but not current though!
__________________
sular47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2014, 10:46 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,562
Are you referring to a 120 amp resettable circuit breaker made by bussman?
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2014, 07:09 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 13
Send a message via ICQ to sular47
yes
__________________

__________________
sular47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
slide, slide out

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:54 PM.