Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2017, 07:25 PM   #1
WI Sports Nut

Stairs not Working

All:

Anybody have any ideas for fixes for my stairs that are not coming down when the door opens? The light for the stairs comes on, so the door switch seems to be working. I checked all my fuses, in the coach, they are good. Did a motor burn out possibly?

Thanks in advance!
Old 04-23-2017, 07:32 PM   #2

Mine won't work either!

Newbie here, been reading a lot but now we have the same problem. MBS Sprinter Sunseeker 2401W. Step light comes on, if we place a magnet over the switch we hear a click it seems the motor is froze. Is there a way to deploy the steps so we can access the motor to check it out / remove it. We appreciate your help...
Desertsquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 09:39 PM   #3

Thumbs up

Check the RED breaker switch by the house battery compartment under the stairs that is the usual suspect. If not I would suspect the motor which is not difficult to replace. Remove the old motor and take it to a NAPA. It's a Ford window motor.
JW DUKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 05:18 AM   #4
WI Sports Nut

JW, I saw a red switch that said something about "thermal breaker", is that the one? It looked like it might have been extended out now that I think about it... Thks for the help!!
Old 04-24-2017, 08:08 PM   #5
WI Sports Nut

Ok I reset the red breaker, no luck. That breaker was for 120 amp service so for probably the whole coach. I will try the motor next, but how do I get the stairs down so I can get at the motor??
Old 04-24-2017, 09:45 PM   #6