Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-24-2015, 07:11 PM   #1

Steering stabilizer and rear stabil. bar for 270

Has anyone modified the Georgetown 270S chassis to obtain better handling? I specifically have a 2015 270S on a 2014 Ford E350 chassis. I received part numbers from a place out in Washington State (Brazel's RV Performance) but they only say they apply to E350 model years up to 2004. I'm confused. I just need a steering stabilizer and rear stabilizer bar that performs as it should. Thanks
gapeach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 01:22 PM   #2

Is your MH built on the ford f-53 chassie? I have a georgetown 328. I had a stabilizer put on the steering and a 2nd anti-sway bar added to the rear. It made alot of difference.
I am fairly new at this but here is some of the terminology that I have come up with.

Stabilizer attaches to the steering arm and the frame.Works like a shock to prevent sudden & quick movement of the steering likeyou would have with a blowout on the front of the vehicle, hitting a chuckholeor ruts in the pavement. It is a safety device.

TRACK BAR attaches to the frame and the axel to keepthe body and the wheels tracking together but still allows up & downmovement. With only the shocks and springs attaching the frame to the wheelsthere is lateral movement between the two.

SWAY BAR(ANTI-SWAYBAR) attaches to axel & frame to keep the body from leaning too far offthe wheels . Stops the feeling that you are going to roll over.
gunn1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2015, 01:27 PM   #3

There are other threads out here that talk about this subject. search for sway bars or stabilizers.
Old 05-25-2015, 01:29 PM   #4

I am sorry, I read your post again and see you said 350.
Old 08-23-2015, 04:02 PM   #5
TAG