Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-23-2011, 05:48 PM   #1

Toad rookie needs advice please

I am new to towing cars with the RV. I will be using a tow dolly instead since our toyota can't be towed 4 down. I am hoping to get a tandem dolly so that our motorcycle can make the trip too.

What will I need as far as brake systems? I see the dolly can be fitted with electric or hydraulic brakes. Does that replace a brake system for the car, or do I need some sort of brake system in the car also?

Then do I need to wire the car's brake/turn lights or is it easier to use the magnetic ones I've seen?

Obviously I'm really a rookie here, so all advice is welcomed and appreciated!

Thanks in advance!
rxfiller is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 06:58 PM   #2

I think you’re talking about a full trailer & not a dolly.
If you’re getting a tandem axel trailer then you wouldn’t be using the car brakes at all.
You will need a brake controller in the RV. What kind is a whole other thread.
The trailer would also have the standard DOT required lights too.
You would just need the brake controller, 7-way connector & a class 4 or 5 hitch receiver.
2011 Silverado 2500 4WD, LT, Ext Cab, LB
Duramax 6.6L V8 Turbo Diesel
Allison 1000 6-Speed Automatic Transmission
3 Happy Campers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2011, 08:12 PM   #3

After looking at hitches online you will definitely need a class V hitch receiver if you're towing a car & cycle.
How about you post a picture or link of the trailer/dolly you’re contemplating.
Old 07-23-2011, 11:14 PM   #4

Something along these lines:

Nationwide RV Tow Dolly Manufacturer

I hope the link works, I don't know how to put up a picture...
Old 07-24-2011, 01:57 PM   #5

Wow that is the coolest tow dolly ever. Nice find!

If you have your car on a tow dolly can you back up or are you limited to only forward movement.