Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-18-2011, 08:04 PM   #1

Towing

I'm a newbie, so please excuse what may seem to be a basic question. I have a Georgetown 320ds. The spec. Sheet shows it has 4830 pounds of cargo carrying capacity. If I flat tow a car behind, must I subtract the full weight of the towed vehicle from the cargo carrying capacity?
Wbreagy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 08:35 PM   #2
Lottery Non-Winner

There's cargo capacity. That pushes down on the suspension (up/down).
There's towing capacity. That puts a strain on the drive train (longitudinally front/rear).
You have a cargo capacity AND a towing capacity.
My towing capacity is 5000 lbs. Part of that puts a vertical load on the suspension (let's call it tongue weight since it is the weight of the trailer's tongue). The tongue weight shall be considered as part of your cargo. So whatever that tongue weight is needs to be subtracted from your 4830. If the tongue weighs 300 lbs, you can only put 4530 lbs of "other stuff" in your rig.
While making sure you don't exceed the cargo capacity (4830) by loading up the RV with water, gas, people, food, clothing, AND tongue weight, the total weight of the car plus the trailer must not be more than the max towing capacity of the RV.
In summary, you have TWO (2) numbers to keep an eye on (cargo cap. & towing cap.).
Hope that is understandable and helpful.

2011 Georgetown 337
2009 HD FLHTCU
2007 HD FXSTC
Ovair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2011, 08:50 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ovair
There's cargo capacity. That pushes down on the suspension (up/down).
There's towing capacity. That puts a strain on the drive train (longitudinally front/rear).
You have a cargo capacity AND a towing capacity.