Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2013, 10:53 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
ramair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 630
mine was the same way, if you did not use the surround sound you had to have it up to 100 to hear anything. Purchased a bose speaker system and hooked up and now works great. The bose is for a computer. Has power base unit and (2) speakers.
__________________

__________________
Andrew & Donna Reyes
2012 Georgetown 378XL
2015 Ford Taurus
&
Our Baby Dachshund
Cammie
ramair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 10:57 AM   #12
Senior Member
 
Iggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Desert SW - Arizona
Posts: 6,360
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramair View Post
mine was the same way, if you did not use the surround sound you had to have it up to 100 to hear anything. Purchased a bose speaker system and hooked up and now works great. The bose is for a computer. Has power base unit and (2) speakers.
What model Bose system and where did you place the main box and speakers. Any pictures you could share?
Thanks
__________________

__________________
2012 Georgetown XL - 378TS 60,000 miles
Life is a journey, not a destination !

Iggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 11:25 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,478
If I remember correctly, hmmmm, anyway.. I think there is an option in your setup where you can select if you want the sound to come from the TV speakers when connected to an external audio system. I have a Legend TV and it connect s to my Genisis unit. I put the Genisis on AV1 to hear the sound and I have selected to not have the sound out of TV speakers. I think you can have both, sound from TV and Genisis at same time.

Use your menu and go to audio setup or speaker setup to see if at factory or previous owner set it up for no sound from TV..
__________________
2016 Siverback 33IK
2015 Ford F-250 Lariat 6.7L V8 Diesel 4WD Super Cab

"If you don't know where you are going, any road will get you there."
dalford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 05:15 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
cjd10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 481
A few postings have suggested using AV1 or AV2 to have the tv play through the external speakers. Is this using the in dash entertainment system or something else?
__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS

Charleston SC
3 Boston Terriers, 1 Frenchie
Gonna miss you Toby. RIP
cjd10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 05:31 PM   #15
Site Team
 
dcheatwood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 3,380
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjd10 View Post
A few postings have suggested using AV1 or AV2 to have the tv play through the external speakers. Is this using the in dash entertainment system or something else?
If you have stereo connected to television for surround sound, the stereo sound be set to AV2. Or 1. Check both for sound.
__________________
2013 Rockwood 8282WS
Reese Revolution Pin, Reese 16K
2008 Tundra Limited Double Cab 5.7L
Air Lift 5000 w/Wireless Air

dcheatwood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 05:51 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
cjd10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Charleston SC
Posts: 481
Guess I need to clarify. On my motor home the radio/stereo/DVD player is all one unit in the dash. When playing the radio or a DVD the surround sound can be used and the TV itself puts out no sound. When watching TV through just the antenna the TV speakers work. I would love to be able to figure out if it is possible to get the surround speakers to work using the antenna but looking at a wiring diagram from a previous post it didn't appear that the antenna signal ever went through the in dash entertainment system.

I have also noticed that some of the posts saying it is possible seem to be from TT owners verses the MHs. That was why I was wanting to clarify my question as to whether the entertainment/surround system was the in dash type or something else.
__________________
2014 Georgetown 351DS

Charleston SC
3 Boston Terriers, 1 Frenchie
Gonna miss you Toby. RIP
cjd10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:02 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
ramair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 630
Iggy I purchased a Bose Companion 3 series, purchase some splitters and you can plug them into the rear of TV, and have the Bose system and the surround sound in the Motorhome working at the same time if needed, or separate, I just purchased the splitters at Lowes for $10 and with everything working it is amazing. The Bose system has its own volume controller and the TV is set and 8-10. The power bass unit is behind the TV and the speakers are either side. Will get some pictures posted of all the mods soon.
__________________
Andrew & Donna Reyes
2012 Georgetown 378XL
2015 Ford Taurus
&
Our Baby Dachshund
Cammie
ramair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:15 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
You would have to run wires or optic cable from the TV to the audio unit.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:51 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
ramair's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Texas
Posts: 630
BarryD0706 the cable runs from the back of TV to the back of Bose system. On the cable one side is like RCA plug-ins the other is standard single round plug. I can take picture if needed. Will post some pictures of all my mods. Just added LED lighting in the bedroom around the slide out, has 14 different color options to choose from. At night puts enough light out so you can see what your doing without turning on any of the main lights.
__________________
Andrew & Donna Reyes
2012 Georgetown 378XL
2015 Ford Taurus
&
Our Baby Dachshund
Cammie
ramair is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 06:58 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
Quote:
Originally Posted by ramair View Post
BarryD0706 the cable runs from the back of TV to the back of Bose system. On the cable one side is like RCA plug-ins the other is standard single round plug. I can take picture if needed. Will post some pictures of all my mods. Just added LED lighting in the bedroom around the slide out, has 14 different color options to choose from. At night puts enough light out so you can see what your doing without turning on any of the main lights.
I was responding to cjd10.
__________________

__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:38 AM.