Old 07-29-2012, 04:24 PM   #1

Use of house air conditioning and generator while driving

Hello. Everyone has been so helpful in responding to my various questions. It must be obvious that I am new to the motorhome life style. I have a 2012 Forest River Georgetown XL 337DS. I am wondering whether it is okay (or dangerous) to use the generator while driving so that I can have the house air conditioners on. I have hesitated to do so because of fears that this is not a good idea. However, the dashboard air conditioner really struggles to keep even the cab cool when I drive in the desert. Your experiences and advice would be much appreciated. Thanks.

Old 07-29-2012, 04:41 PM   #2

I've spent many hours driving with the generator running and the roof top air going. In my opinion it's a perfectly normal thing to do.

The only strangeness is that both your engine and the generator (via the converter) are both charging the batteries. This can cause the red battery light on the dash to come on (or flash). It's not an indication of a real problem just an annoyance. It's a side effect of how the circuit for that idiot light works. Just turn on the headlights and it should cause that light to go out.

Old 07-29-2012, 04:51 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by jsutherl View Post
I've spent many hours driving with the generator running and the roof top air going. In my opinion it's a perfectly normal thing to do.

The only strangeness is that both your engine and the generator (via the converter) are both charging the batteries. This can cause the red battery light on the dash to come on (or flash). It's not an indication of a real problem just an annoyance. It's a side effect of how the circuit for that idiot light works. Just turn on the headlights and it should cause that light to go out.

Could you please clarify yyour statement above for me.