Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-20-2016, 06:33 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 10
Where did they hide my inverter

I have a 2014 Georgetown XL 377. Does anyone know where they put the inverter? I can find the switch, but it does not appear to do anything. Either the switch is bad or the inverter is bad (or maybe needs reset). If it is bad I need to replace it......I just cannot find where they hid it.
__________________

__________________
CarefreeCorses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 06:40 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 209
On my 2015 377 it is in a compartment above the propane tank. There is a round screw off cap that you can look in and see it. If you need to work on it you will need to remove the black panel.
__________________

__________________
Georgetown XL 377TS
USAF-- CMSGT Retired.
georgew48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 07:11 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 10
Thanks, its right where you said it was, now I just need to figure out why there is no power to it
__________________
CarefreeCorses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2016, 10:32 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Uwntgess123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 6
When mine didn't have power turned out that the gfi popped on the outlet it was plugged into.
__________________
Uwntgess123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 10:16 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 10
No power in, GFI does not work without input power.
__________________
CarefreeCorses is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 11:28 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 967
In the case of these inverters the GFI is not the input...it is the output. The remote button will glow green, meaning that the inverter is powered and running but the load will not receive any AC since the output goes through a GFI duplex outlet on the back. Reset the GFI and all is well.

If the remote switch doesn't glow green, the inverter is not running. Could be a fuse is blown or something on the DC side. If that is the case, put a meter on the DC input lugs on the back of the inverter to see if there is power. If there is...

If the remote switch is bad or unplugged you can power the inverter up with the switch on the front of the unit. There is also a display that will give you nominal DC voltage as well as instantaneous power consumption.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 12:49 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
chrisbailey13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 398
If the problem is no power to the inverter, Look near your batteries. there should be a breaker that looks similar to this

that connects to the 12v wire that goes back to the inverter. It may have tripped.

You will probably have two of them under there.
__________________
2014 Georgetown XL 352QS
2013-10 Days (in a rental)
2014-52 Days
2015 Days Camped-53

2016 Days Camped-51

2017 Days Camped-3
chrisbailey13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 01:52 PM   #8
Member
 
Havasu Bill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 73
As mentioned in earlier comments.
1. The gfci outlet on the inverter can trip. Mine did numerous times and I finally tore the inverter apart and changed out the gfci to a standard duplex receptacle. Everything works fine now and the 5er has gfci receptacles inside.
2. The input fuse FR installs is 80A and Xantrex recommends 250A for the 200W inverter. I changed that out to a 250A and all is good now.
__________________
Havasu Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 02:11 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
GreenImp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Oregon
Posts: 478
Send a message via MSN to GreenImp
Quote:
Originally Posted by Havasu Bill View Post
2. The input fuse FR installs is 80A and Xantrex recommends 250A for the 200W inverter. I changed that out to a 250A and all is good now.

This does not compute. A 200w inverter only needs about 20 amps of DC input (assuming it runs on 12v DC).

Also...
Did you increase the wire size too? If not you have created a potential fire hazard. Fuse sizes are dictated by the size of the wiring they are supposed to be protecting. I'm not so much posting this to tell you that you did it wrong (how far would that get me?), but more so that others coming along and reading this realize the risk.
__________________
'04 GMC Sierra 2500HD, CCSB, D/A, MaxBrake, B&W Companion, Retrax Pro, AR Power Steps
2013 Rockwood 8289WS w/Diamond pkg
1969 Camaro RS/SS Convertible
Dad's old 1968 Empi Imp (recently recovered from under 21 years worth of boxes/dust)
GreenImp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2016, 02:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 967
That's a typo, Xantrex makes a 2000 watt inverter, not a 200 watt unit. Normally FR uses a 2000 watt unit for the residential reefer.
__________________

__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:44 AM.