Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2018, 08:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Are converters needed for power in Canada?

Leaving for 2 weeks in Calgary, Banff, Jasper etc. this week. Will I need a special converter for shore power for my 30 amp system?
__________________

2xMarys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 08:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Near Massena, NY
Posts: 31
No we have the same electrical system as the USA. It is a North American standard.
__________________

Robecage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 08:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Hutch333id's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cochrane, AB
Posts: 822
Just remember that it is bilingual electrickery in Canada, eh!
__________________


Richard & Diane
2014 Cedar Creek 38FL
2016 F350 Lariat CC DRW
Retired Metropolitan Police (UK)
Hutch333id is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 08:33 PM   #4
Trailer Park Supervisor
 
NJKris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 294
I heard they only have DC power, and it's METRIC!
__________________
2019 Rockwood Geo Pro G19FD w/off road package
2015 Ford F150 XLT Super Cab 4x4 V8
NJKris is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 08:33 PM   #5
Site Team
 
bikendan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Camano Island, Washington
Posts: 15,939
Except they call it "hydro".
__________________
Dan-Retired Firefighter/EMT
Shawn-Musician/Entrepreneur/Wine Expert
and Zoe the Wonder Dog(R.I.P.)
2016 PrimeTime TracerAIR 255, pushing a 2014 Ford F150 4x4 3.5 Ecoboost w/Max Tow Package
Equalizer WDH and Prodigy BC
bikendan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 11:10 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Hutch333id's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cochrane, AB
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by bikendan View Post
Except they call it "hydro".
Not in 'Berta. Lol
__________________


Richard & Diane
2014 Cedar Creek 38FL
2016 F350 Lariat CC DRW
Retired Metropolitan Police (UK)
Hutch333id is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 11:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Hutch333id's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cochrane, AB
Posts: 822
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xMarys View Post
Leaving for 2 weeks in Calgary, Banff, Jasper etc. this week. Will I need a special converter for shore power for my 30 amp system?
I'm just outside Calgary and in all honesty I would be embarrassed to have you stay at a CG in Calgary. I'm not sure where you are planning to stay but I would recommend that you look at one of the smaller towns on the outskirts of the City.

Okotoks to the south has a pretty decent Lions cg in the heart of the town. To the Northwest, Cochrane has a very well reviewed cg at Bow Rivers Edge. From either location it is only a short drive to the LRT for travel in to Calgary instead of taking your vehicle down town.

Alternatively, there is an excellent FHU resort at Coyote Creek Golf club in Sundre. This would take you up the eastern foothills of the Rockies to Jasper via Hwy 22 allowing you to return through Banff NP along the Icefields Parkway. We are currently in full fall colours and this drive would give you wonderful scenery and colour.

Not sure what your vehicle requires but if you're looking for the cheapest diesel use the Costco on the east side of Calgary (Hwy 201/17th Ave). If it is just gas you require, there are two other Costco locations that have gas for sale - also one in Okotoks.

I have a bias towards Cochrane because I live here but we do have some great riverside walks and cycle paths.
__________________


Richard & Diane
2014 Cedar Creek 38FL
2016 F350 Lariat CC DRW
Retired Metropolitan Police (UK)
Hutch333id is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 09:44 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 7
Thanks so much. This is helpful. I'll take a look at Cochrane. We are visiting an elderly friend for a day and a couple of nights before heading to Jasper. I've got a 32 foot Class C towing a small truck. 22 was actually the highway we were looking at to take up to Jasper so your note helped confirm the route. Thanks again.
2xMarys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 10:08 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJKris View Post
I heard they only have DC power, and it's METRIC!
What I thought was originally a dumb question isn't because I don't know the answer with certainty. For all I know, Canada could have been on the same power standard as their European brethren.

Heck, I don't even know what side of the road Canadians drive on
TranceX2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 01:54 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Victoria, BC
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by NJKris View Post
I heard they only have DC power, and it's METRIC!

It is Metric! It's measured in Kilowatts.
__________________

rbrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canada, converter, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.