Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-04-2018, 04:19 AM   #1
Global Nomad
 
Scheinin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: In my 36CKTS 5th Wheel
Posts: 626
Cell Phone in Canada

I am going to Alaska by way of Canada. I am on AT&T, but their Canada plan is expensive. I went to T-Mobile who has a good price, but they say my I Phone 6 is not compatible with their system. I find this hard to believe. I am now in Montana. Any one in Montana have T-Mobile using an I Phone 6?
__________________

__________________
Steven J. Scheinin
2015 RAM 3500 4X4
6.7L CTD Dually pulling a
2016 Cedar Creek 36CKTS


Scheinin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 04:25 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,319
Send a message via AIM to B and B
Different band.Will not work. In rural areas you might see 4G but data speeds might be 2G or EDVO speed. In fact ATT was your best choice. I roam for $5 per day on ATT in US for a maximum of $50 a month. My regular phone bill for two phones and 6 gb of data on Robbers is $180 a month. Single phone is $120 a month.
__________________

B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 06:11 AM   #3
Who Dares, Wins
 
doc73's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Chester County, PA
Posts: 6,622
We used verizon last trip into CA. It was $30 for the month I think and everything worked as it should have.
__________________

Pat, Jen, Heather & Sapphire, the head mouser.
2015 ChevyHD D-Max
2018 Artic Wolf 315tbh8
doc73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 06:35 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Portage wi
Posts: 609
Unlike the rest for the world where you can swap a card to change carriers each company in thenus pretty much has their own phones. What I used to do was buy unlocked phones from Europe off of eBay that way I could just put the SIM card of the carrier I wanted in
__________________
2011 gray wolf 25rb
Jmkjr72 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 07:02 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
5er_tom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Durham, NC
Posts: 2,020
We have Verizon. Since we travel a lot, we have the 16GIG data plan. Voice service in Canada is included at no extra charge.
__________________
Tom & Renée
Durham, NC

2015 Wildcat 295RSX
2018 Ford F-350, 4x4, Diesel, CC, Long Bed
5er_tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 07:04 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Carl17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: New York
Posts: 343
Phone att

ROGERS CANADA CELL SERVICE IS ATT U.S. OUR PHONE TURNS OVER AUTOMATICALLY WHEN WE CROSS OVER FROM U.S. TO CANADA . THATS IN ONTARIO CA. TO ,NEW YORK CANT SAY ABOUT REST OF CANADA.
__________________
Carl & Bette
2018 Leprechaun
NEW YORK
Carl17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 07:17 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
BandJCarm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Between Pickles Gap and Toad Suck, AR
Posts: 5,771
GSM vs. CDMA. Two completely different technologies.

Buy an unlocked phone and stick whoever's SIM card in it, that you want. Then buy their plan. But beware, most plans have a minimum time limit you have to sign up for. You can also get on ATT's website and they'll guide you through how to unlock your own smartphone. It's not 'verbotten' anymore.

Cell phones are highly expensive things.
__________________
"Next to prayer, fishing is the most personal relationship of man" Herbert Hoover
"American by Birth, Southern by the Grace of God"Lewis Grizzard

FROG AR-0019-242
2016 GMC Denali 3500Dually--2017 CC 36CKTS
BandJCarm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 12:22 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rvrobocop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 157
VZW service has been improving over the last 5 years, at least in Ontario from the border north a few hours.
__________________

Scott
2011 Sunseeker 3170DSF
2002 Honda CR-V
"Do not mistake my benevolence for weakness."
rvrobocop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 12:24 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 85
We are hoping to head to Alaska too. I went on AT&T website, and they said I was already covered.
Goat Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 12:25 PM   #10
Dahagen
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Cascade Idaho
Posts: 391
On my trip up the Alaska Hiway a few years ago I had Verizon. Calls without the Canada plan were pricey. I now have T-mobile (NO contract) with Canada and Mexico at no extra charge. BTW...when I changed from Verizon 15 gig plan to T-mobile unlimited gig 55+ program I saved $40/month. I have two phones and went from flip-phones to smart phones.
dahagen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 01:14 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 316
Sounds like baloney ... There are only two models of the iphone 6 in the US, A1549 works for all carriers except Sprint which uses A1586. A1549 was the model Apple sold unlocked to activate with any carrier (except Sprint...).
In any case both AT&T and T-mobile run GSM networks, it might be that the OPs phone still has a carrier lock although subsidized phones went away around that time.

Correction: A1586 was the unlocked model from Apple which covered all US carriers.
https://appleinsider.com/articles/15...-6-plus-models
TheGerman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 01:18 PM   #12
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,173
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scheinin View Post
I am going to Alaska by way of Canada. I am on AT&T, but their Canada plan is expensive. I went to T-Mobile who has a good price, but they say my I Phone 6 is not compatible with their system. I find this hard to believe. I am now in Montana. Any one in Montana have T-Mobile using an I Phone 6?
This is probably quite true. There are two major cell phone technologies out there, CDMA and GSM. ATT uses GSM.

Apple makes 2 kinds of iPhones, to support the 2 kinds of technology. They have different radios in them to work with the different bands. (Technically, there's more to it than that, but for this discussion, let's refer to them as just two separate phones.) Since you have an ATT phone, it only works on GSM and doesn't have the necessary radioes to work with CDMA.

But, let's step back and look at what you're looking for. Is it just basic cell coverage while you travel through Canada? So, like, maybe a week or two's worth? Perhaps you just need to get ATT to unlock your phone, then you can pick up a pay as you go phone from a compatible provider in Canada. Among the big 3, Rogers is the GSM provider, so take a look here: https://www.rogers.com/web/content/w...er#,Tabset1--1

If it's really just an emergency use thing, then you can go as low as $10 for a month's access.
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk... unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 02:25 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 156
I am in Canada and travel into the US.. as soon as I go over the border it switches from Rogers to ATT.. it then sends me text where i can get a US usage plan.. But with Rogers, we pay a little more ($30) for the month we are traveling. It is called "Roam Like Home" and we just use the smart phones normally and everything is coverd

Call ATT in advance and ask them what plans they have.
Jeff from Burlington Ont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 02:25 PM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Posts: 30
You've been given bad info from someone it T-Mobile. As others have said, both T-Mobile and AT&T use GSM technology, at least in the states. A look at https://www.t-mobile.com/cell-phones...7QGF8N5L3B5877 tells me that the T-Mobile offers an iPhone 6s, at least for their new USA customers. I used an iPhone 4s a couple of years ago... it was an old one from AT&T and I got a cheap plan from Rogers (or one of their subsidiaries, I am not sure cuz I looked at serveral plans) for the month or so I was in and about New Brunswick, since AT&T wanted me to pay extra (a LOT) to be able to make calls for $1 a minute or something stupid like that.
JerryR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 02:58 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 1,654
If you're in MT and are planning to travel to AK you will probably drive through Alberta, (Northern) BC and Yukon.
Most likely the best reception will be on Telus and Bell, Rogers sucks outside the the big cities, don't put to much trust in the coverage maps.
Your best bet is, unless your phone is unlocked, to buy a cheap unlocked phone and find out what Bell and Telus have to offer in no contract, pay as you go plans. You may also want to invest in a cell signal booster since service is weak in remote areas and in the mountains.
__________________
2018 RAM 5500 Laramie CC
Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar, 6x6 Volt AGM Battery Bank, Freedom SW 3012 Inv/Charger
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 03:03 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
wnelsonfl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Mount Dora FL
Posts: 173
Use t-mobile in Canada no extra charges. I have a GSM Phone. ATT tried to bankrupt me that's why I switched.

PS $50 per month all-in. Unlimited everything
wnelsonfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 03:15 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 10,319
Send a message via AIM to B and B
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cypressloser View Post
If you're in MT and are planning to travel to AK you will probably drive through Alberta, (Northern) BC and Yukon.
Most likely the best reception will be on Telus and Bell, Rogers sucks outside the the big cities, don't put to much trust in the coverage maps.
Your best bet is, unless your phone is unlocked, to buy a cheap unlocked phone and find out what Bell and Telus have to offer in no contract, pay as you go plans. You may also want to invest in a cell signal booster since service is weak in remote areas and in the mountains.
Exactly, Tmobile roaming is a bottom feeder and Telus/Bell is CDMA mostly. ATT has the best agreement in Canada for US carriers
B and B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 03:36 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Cypressloser's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Alberta - East of the Rockies, West of the Rest
Posts: 1,654
Quote:
Originally Posted by B and B View Post
Exactly, Tmobile roaming is a bottom feeder and Telus/Bell is CDMA mostly. ATT has the best agreement in Canada for US carriers
Our Bell (LG5 & LG6) phones are both GSM by default, set to auto switch to CDMA where GSM is not available.
My understanding is that the major carriers have converted to GSM some time ago.

https://www.whistleout.ca/CellPhones...ll-phone-plans

This is where my limited knowledge regarding cellphone technology ends
__________________
2018 RAM 5500 Laramie CC
Riverstone Legacy 38RE, 960 Watt Solar, 6x6 Volt AGM Battery Bank, Freedom SW 3012 Inv/Charger
Cypressloser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 05:30 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Calgary
Posts: 659
I live in Canada and have Fido/Rogers for my phone.

But, I have T-mobile for my iPad on a monthly pay as you go. I buy as much as I want when I travel. I use the T-mobile in the US and Canada and it works better in Canada than the US, because there are some places in the US where there is no T-Mobile service. But, when I use T-Mobile in Canada, it will use whatever network it can find, not just one network.

When the T-Mobile is using Bell or Telus in Canada, it is on 3GS or LTE. I'm not sure, but I think that CDMA is only 2G and lower. LTE is definitely the same on a CDMA or GSM phone, and it may also be that 3GS is as well.

BTW, I can also tether my other devices to the T-mobile on the iPad, which is something that the T-mobile rep told me wouldn't work. So, don't trust the limitations that they claim.

–Gordon
__________________
Gordon Sick, Calgary
2015 Berkshire 34QS
The Manual I wrote for our 34QS:
https://www.forestriverforums.com/fo...qs-191578.html
2005 Acura EL (aka Honda Civic)
gordonsick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2018, 05:52 PM   #20
Lacey's Spring, AL
 
formerFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Lacey's Spring, AL
Posts: 2,387
just change your service plan to Unlimited Plus and you'll have unlimited service while you are there, and can change back to your 'regular' plan, if you wish, when you return... works great. Went all thru Canada, Alaska, and back into the states via Montana and Idaho before returning to GA... liked it so much we just kept it!
__________________

__________________

The Turners
'14 Thor Palazzo 33.3 diesel
KingTailgater2 Dish, 100w/5amps roof SOLAR, BlueOx, 100,000+mi since '14... US, Alaska, and Canada... from W.C. Georgia, then W. North Carolina, now Lacey's Spring, AL : )
formerFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
canada

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:17 AM.


×