Old 03-05-2013, 04:05 PM   #1

New RVer needs help

We are brand new RVers and plan to travel across Canada this spring.
We have a 2013 Tracer model 235FBS. Any helpful advice on travel along the Trans-Canada Hiway would be very helpful. Also I am very new at this "forum stuff" and, am having trouble navigating this technology. I am very computer challenged so bear with me.....ha ha.
We really want to stay at rest areas to save money but, would enjoy staying once or twice a week at a nice scenic campground.....NOT a "glorified trailer park". Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Old 03-05-2013, 04:28 PM   #2

Welcome to the forum!
If you can tell us your route, some of the Canucks on the board can probably give you some good ideas.
Sounds like a fun trip!

Old 03-05-2013, 04:37 PM   #3

It is my understanding that in BC and Alberta that staying overnight in a rest area is not allowed. A little more details and I might be able to help you out, in Alberta at least.
Campingnut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 04:45 PM   #4

There aren't many rest areas in western Canada to begin with, and I think you are correct about not being able to overnight at them.
But there are enough reasonably-priced campgrounds, and some quite nice spots to stop.
Old 03-05-2013, 04:54 PM   #5

Your best bet is going to be staying at the Provincial Parks along the way. Most if not all the rest areas only let you stay for short period of time and I do not think any allow overnight stays.

As a side note you can always stay in parking lot of the local Walmart..! As long as you are self contained and not making a mess I have even seen rigs stay in the same spot for multiple days.

Hope you have a great trip..! Try this for some more info...it is link to a web site..!

Tourism British Columbia | Official Travel Website of BC Canada

2006 F350 6.0 with 3.73 gears, 4X4, Extra-Cab Long Box, Oil/Tranny/P.S. Coolers. Coolant filter. SCT Livewire.