Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-28-2010, 11:50 AM   #1
RV Newbie

Smile 2004 Lexington 210, my thoughts

I am going to start this thread to record my thoughts and my updates to our sightly used Lex 210. Overall we are really happy with the unit and think we got a good deal. Fortunately, I am a skilled carpenter and will be able to take care of the upgrades and flaws that we are finding daily.

THE GOOD:

We have no water issues, No leaks in the roof and the walls have no sign of wall delamination. All system are working well. Tires are holding air well and it handles like a dream.

THE BAD:

1) The under carriage is full of holes that allow insects and rodents into the cabin. For example, the front corners of the floor deck are clipped off at 45 degree angles and do NOT follow the contour of the fiberglass wall corners. I found holes big enough to push my arm up into the cabin on both sides. I removed the vinyl covered panels (inboard of the fiberglass corners) between the cab and the cabin and found the same holes looking down. FR did ramdomly inject foam into these areas but missed the mark badly. My fix was cutting pieces off a heavy plastic furnace filter and pack the voids. I then injected expandable foam into and over the fibers.

2) FR, I assume, added a foot or so to length of the GM (2004 Chevy Express) factory chassis frame. On close inspection it is easy to see that they did not properly weld the frame extension to the factory frame. Poor penetration, skips and missing welds. In at least one side the top flange is not even welded. The trailer hitch is 100% mounted to these frame extensions. Nobody should assume that it is safe to tow anything from this hitch without an inspection of the welds.