Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-16-2014, 10:02 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 9
Inverter question

I have a 2009 Lexington GTS. When I'm running on house batteries with my inverter on none of my outlets is working. I know that my inverter is producing 120 vac because I tested it with a meter and plugged in a box fan just to be sure. Is there a transfer switch somewhere that I'm overlooking?
__________________

__________________
polar bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 10:11 AM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 79
I guess I am learning something. I thought you had to be on generator or shore in order to get ac. I will have to read the manual.
__________________

__________________
2014 Solera 24R
David100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 10:29 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 9
My understanding is that is what the inverter does. It turns 12 volt DC from the batteries into 120 vac. I hope that if I'm incorrect someone will correct me. I was testing my batteries yesterday in preparation for a long trip (some of which will be spent "boondocking") and while using just my batteries my inverter was producing 120 vac......it just wasn't being distributed to any outlets.
__________________
polar bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 10:33 AM   #4
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,048
Quote:
Originally Posted by polar bear View Post
My understanding is that is what the inverter does. It turns 12 volt DC from the batteries into 120 vac. I hope that if I'm incorrect someone will correct me. I was testing my batteries yesterday in preparation for a long trip (some of which will be spent "boondocking") and while using just my batteries my inverter was producing 120 vac......it just wasn't being distributed to any outlets.
Yes, this is correct as to the function of an inverter......and yes you do have a transfer switch.
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2014, 11:24 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 9
Thanks for the help! Now to locate said transfer switch.
__________________
polar bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2014, 07:58 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ernest917's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Woodville, Texas
Posts: 1,713
I may be wrong but I don't think the inverter will power the AC.... It would suck the batteries in record time..... It will power a micro and a furnace and a few other things tho.....
__________________
ernest917 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 06:48 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 9
You are correct the batteries aren't strong enough to power the air conditioner. What I was referring to was alternating current. The batteries produce 12 volt DC (direct current) and the inverter takes that and produces 120 vac. It is this 120 volt alternating current that powers the wall outlets, and this is my problem. I can verify the 12 volt DC going into the inverter and I can verify the 120 volt AC leaving the inverter but it's not reaching the outlets. The process of elimination leads me to believe that there is a disconnect or a transfer switch I haven't located.
__________________
polar bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 07:04 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Your inverter might not supply any general 120 volts outlets. Most likely it will supply power to the TV and the residential fridge (if that's what you have).
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 07:41 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
RSchleder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 1,277
Before you spend too much time trying to check your transfer switch, check to see if you have a GFI tripped. You will need to reset any tripped GFI in order to get the wall sockets to work. Also, don't forget to check them all as typically there's 2 or more in every RV. Good luck.

PS-fonzie has a good point, it all depends on how the coach is wired.
__________________
RSchleder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 08:47 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: North Georgia
Posts: 9
I did check all of the GFI's and they all seem to be in the reset position, but I never hurts to check again. I'm sure I'm overlooking something (probably something simple too) just not sure what it is. I will keep trying.......
__________________

__________________
polar bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
inverter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08 PM.