Old 03-12-2018, 06:13 PM   #1

2009 sun seeker anode rod

HI, I am brand new to this. We just bought a 2009 sun seeker. I wanted to replace the adore rod, but I am not sure if there are different sizes? Canal one direct me towards the right one?
TiA

Efranco77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 06:32 PM   #2

Efranco77 ... you probably should have started a new thread, but I'll answer. First you need to know which HW you have ... Atwood or Suburban. Generally Atwoods don't have an anode as the tanks are made of aluminum ... thus it probably has a plastic drain plug. Suburban tanks are enamel over steel and require an anode. You'll need your model number or tank size (6 -10 -12 gal) to get the right anode. I prefer a magnesium anode over an aluminum one. It usually requires a 1 1/16" socket to remove it and Teflon tape to seal it when you go back together. Flush the tank out good while you have the anode out. Be sure the water pressure has been removed and that the tank has time to cool before removing the anode.

dieselguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2018, 07:47 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Efranco77 View Post
HI, I am brand new to this. We just bought a 2009 sun seeker. I wanted to replace the adore rod, but I am not sure if there are different sizes? Canal one direct me towards the right one?
TiA
Assuming it uses an anode, they are generally one-size-fits-all.

A key bit of info. The anode will say it fits 3/4" pipe thread. Then you look at the hole and its MUCH larger than 3/4". it's almost 1". What gives?
Well, the dimension is based on a plumbing standard which is:
3/4" galvanized or black pipe is 3/4" INSIDE diameter. The Outside of the pipe (and the female connector it goes into) is closer to 1". As dieselguy says, you'll need a 1 1/16" socket to remove/install the anode. Guess what? Your socket set probably does not include a 1 1/16" socket.