Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-17-2014, 11:11 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 41
2014 Sunseeker 3170 DS DVD System

Hello all! We have just purchased our new 3170DS and cannot figure out the DVD system. I see previous posts that had the same frustrations and I still cannot figure it out. The DVD is playing in the dash, switchbox is on dvd, tv source is on tv. I have scanned from channels and it will not find channel "3". If i type 3 on the remote it just defaults to a channel that it finds. i.e. 19.3 or 25.5 ect. This is on air not cable. I have repeated these steps and seached from cable channels and naturally there are none. I am just really confused on to what I am doing wrong? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!
__________________

__________________
rdeiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 11:36 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 164
Input should be HDMI. Hence the TV channel would not matter.
__________________

__________________
DrJMB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 11:38 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 41
Thanks for the reply but there isn't anything connected to the HDMI port.
__________________
rdeiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 12:53 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Jesup, GA
Posts: 231
Mine doesn't have the switchbox but I have to put the tv input to av2
__________________
GJones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 01:26 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 41
From what I have read it has to be in channel 3 or 4 im with tv as the source. I am just going to take it up to the dealer I was just hoping it was something simple to avoid the the 2 hour drive. But thanks for the help.
__________________
rdeiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 02:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 311
I think I remember another post somewhere saying that sometimes they hook the DVD player to input 1 and sometimes to input 2. So, maybe try all of the inputs to see what you get. I am pretty sure its not actually a channel you are looking for, but an input source.
__________________
jrwalkerpa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 02:37 PM   #7
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,097
So you have the switch box. You can check the back to see if it is set to channel 3 or channel 4.

Which TV are your trying to program? Bedroom TV or front TV, kids TV?

Front TV: Try AV1 or AV2. We typically try and wire the front TV directly to the DVD player. Converting to coax greatly reduces the signal quality.

Middle TV: that one has its own DVD player. It is wired directly to the TV. So AV1 or AV2.

Bedroom TV: that one has to be coax unless it has its own DVD player built in (some do). That needs to be on AIR. DVD needs to be playing. scan for channels. As previously mentioned, whenever you split coax signal quality is greatly reduced.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 03:13 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 41
thanks for all the replies.
bclemens- I am trying to program the front and "kids zone" tv from the in dash dvd.

The kids zone dvd player works just fine when using it independently from the dvd system that is in the wall just under the tv. (I use source av2 for that function) At the dealership they said that if I put a dvd in the in dash player I could play it on any tv in the coach via switchbox. That is the problem. I cant get it to play on any tv besides the dash itself.

I have tried changing the channel between "3" and 4" on back of the switchbox" itself and then running a scan with no luck. If it is wired directly to the tv from the player in the front, what needs to be selected on the switchbox then? I would assume dvd because that is what I am trying to play.

Sorry for the long winded response, I just feel this setup is beyond overcomplicated.

Other responses I have read is that I cannot tune to channel "3" or "4" with the power antenna booster on. They say turn that off at the power source where the front 12v tv plugs in. There is not a button to turn off on that plate. Thanks for the help and suggestions!
__________________
rdeiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 03:21 PM   #9
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,097
not correct. If you wired the TV directly from the DVD player you would not use the switch box. You have effectively cut it out of the process.

Right now the DVD player feeds OUT of the dash with red/white/yellow. On systems with the switch box that goes into the switch box (DVD IN). Then that gets split off into coax to each TV. In trying to do everything for everyone...it does nothing well.

Look at the back of your front TV. Are there RED/WHITE/YELLOW cables running into the TV? If that is the case, simply change the TV to AV1 or AV2 (wherever those plug into). IF not, I would recommend getting a set of RED/WHITE/Yellow (should have lots laying around ). Then go from the DVD OUT on the switch box to the AV1 input from the TV. That will get you a clean signal on AV1 no scanning.

The switch box is what creates the complication. We have since eliminated it....it's last century technology.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2014, 03:29 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 41
Ok thanks I will try that when I get home. I am glad i spent a ton of money on on a 2014 model with last century technology ha
__________________

__________________
rdeiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3170, dvd, sunseeker

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:15 PM.