Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-03-2014, 06:58 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jdk View Post
Now the plug in above the sink doesn't work at all. No thrown breakers. Can't see any bad fuses. The one above the sink is not a ground fault switch. Could they still be on the same line?
Yes, GFI circuits often start with the GFI and connected in parallel beyond 2 or 3 outlets in RV's. They are mandated to be installed within reach of water. Therefore Kitchens low and high installs, baths and outside receps are required to be protected by GFI outlets or sometimes panel circuit breakers are installed for the above locations. If the GFI goes down, all circuits downstream will also open.
__________________

__________________
VinceU is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 08:51 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
Yes, GFI circuits often start with the GFI and connected in parallel.
I think you meant to state "in series". Parallel is adjacent - meaning it had its own route.

Bobby
__________________

__________________
bgilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 08:53 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 492
But you are correct in the way it protects downstream - if properly wired. You can "jump" the ground fault protection at the GFI outlet.
__________________
bgilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 09:26 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,254
If you need to replace the GFI receptacle but can't find one that fits, you can use a Square D Homeline GFCI breaker and replace the GFI receptacle with standard one. It may cost more but you will have it done.
__________________
RamblerGuy
2011 Sunseeker 3100
1997 Pathfinder Toad
RamblerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 10:06 PM   #15
Jdk
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Van Buren
Posts: 30
Just realized the outside plug in doesn't work. Have never tried it before.
__________________
Jdk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 10:08 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Could be same circuit . Kitch, bath, and outside .


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
VinceU is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 10:12 PM   #17
Site Team
 
Kaadk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 3,469
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post
Could be same circuit . Kitch, bath, and outside .


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
x2.

Every user accessible plug in my rig is downstream from the GFI in the bathroom. If that one trips everything else trips. The only plugs not protected are the dedicated ones (Microwave, Fridge, etc..)
__________________
There's no use crying over spilt milk, unless it's on your keyboard.
Kaadk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 11:41 PM   #18
Jdk
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Van Buren
Posts: 30
New GFI outlet solved all problems. The only thing that irritates me is the dealer should have replaced it when it didn't work right when I had it in for service. Thanks for all of your advice.
__________________

__________________
Jdk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
electric

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:53 PM.