Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-23-2013, 06:37 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 119
Question 2860 Surge Guard Remote Monitor Location

Could not find this query in any of the threads so I will open one.
I have a 2013 2860 and am installing the 30A Surge Guard under the bed, so I have read, and would like to place the monitor next to the Control Panel on the wall beside the fridge. Before I start crawling around under the chassis looking for cable runs, has anyone every installed the monitor next to the Control Panel. I am not really sure what cable bundles or single wires are behind that wall. Or has anyone ever installed a monitor in any wall of any model Sunseeker.

Thanks
__________________

__________________
Wildkats66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:03 PM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Like this ?
Click image for larger version

Name:	ems1.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	49.8 KB
ID:	28780
Click image for larger version

Name:	EMS2.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	59.8 KB
ID:	28781
__________________

__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:06 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Click image for larger version

Name:	EMS3.jpg
Views:	87
Size:	59.4 KB
ID:	28782
Click image for larger version

Name:	EMS4.jpg
Views:	79
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	28783
Click image for larger version

Name:	EMS5.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	28784
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 119
That's about right..what unit did you attach it too.
__________________
Wildkats66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:15 PM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
If you mean wires ? The only wire thats needed to attach to an EMS PI unit is the orange coated 3 wire that is incoming power from your power cord.
You can see it cut in picture 4 and 5 .
You can just use those wires to attach to the PI unit but mine came with the quick disconnects .
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:21 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
rattleNsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Western Connecticut
Posts: 1,571
That's perty slick, Turbs. I like those male-female connectors. Easy to take the unit off-line if it messes the bed.
__________________
2010 Cedar Creek 5th Wheel 34SATS "The Beast"
2006 Ford F350 Lariat 6.0L Diesel
2003 Harley Heritage Softail "Hogzilla"
1986 Marriage to "Wifey" (patience of a saint)
rattleNsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2013, 07:24 PM   #7
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Although I cannot take credit for the ones pictured I did have thoughts of it when I was looking for AN EMS .
The two on the unit were on it when I bought it I had to put on the other two ends.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 12:17 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 119
Red face

Opinion time..I have read that the surge guard can be insatlled under the bed...seems like that would cause overheating...but I have also seen snaps of them being installed in the electrical basement...possible water leaks. Access should would be simplier on the install. Since I am a rookie on this I am deferring this to the ole timers and experienced campers.

What say thee.

Happy Trails
__________________
Wildkats66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:02 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Collinsville, IL
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wildkats66 View Post
Opinion time..I have read that the surge guard can be insatlled under the bed...seems like that would cause overheating...but I have also seen snaps of them being installed in the electrical basement...possible water leaks. Access should would be simplier on the install. Since I am a rookie on this I am deferring this to the ole timers and experienced campers.

What say thee.

Happy Trails
I put mine under the bed. I wired it after the transfer switch and before the electric panel so it protects when on shore power or generator. I mounted the remote below the electric panel which is on the front edge of the bed in our unit. Very pleased with installation and operation .
__________________
2012 Forest River Sunseeker 2300 Chevy
RvBill3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2013, 07:15 AM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
I had dead space in the cabinets right where the power comes into the left rear corner of the camper. I used the OEM style sockets as well to wire up my Franks Autotransformer (to make removal easy if I needed to).
The display was put right on the face of the cabinet.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1370.jpg
Views:	54
Size:	53.8 KB
ID:	28823   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1372.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	55.0 KB
ID:	28824  
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.