Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-05-2018, 11:56 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 222
2860DS with double door refrigerator ice maker not working

My icemaker was working fine when I winterized. Now not passin water. Getting water to solenoid but solenoid not passing water. When I flip bail on icemaker up and down it doesn't trigger water. Has worked fine every year. any suggestions. I removed water line to solenoid and has great flow to it. And jumpered 12v (white and green wire) to it. Strange it was working fine when I winterized
Thanks
Ron
__________________

asparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 07:52 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,208
It looks like you have isolated the problem to the solenoid. Sure sounds like the piston is stuck. This is gonna sound crazy but if you put juice to the solenoid and tap the coil with a screwdriver handle it may free it up. If it is successful, you will hear it “click” which I will assume you are not hearing now.
__________________

__________________
ILB ( | )
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 05:17 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 222
So I the cover on the ice maker and there was a diagram in a plastic bag inside. It didn't really have any help as far as figuring out why it wasn't working but there were some fuses on the diagram that were 120VAC. So I started thinking and put some cheater magnifying glasses on and I see the coil is 120VAC. Thought it said 12V on it. I Jumped the coil with 120VAC and it opened and the water valve filled the ice tray. I had read somewhere and cant find it now that talks about the gears in the ice maker harvest cycles getting out of sync. I'm hoping by filling the icemaker it will cycle when the water freezes and be in sync or if that doesn't work find out if a 120VAC fuse is out somewhere. There's some on a power supply board but the cover is behind the outside wall and I haven't been able to get it off. I need to make a tool to get the cover off. I love it when they make access covers on the skin of the MH to small to work on the gear inside!
Any suggestions are appreciated... BTW I had tapped the coil numerous times yesterday, thanks for the tip
RON
asparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2018, 05:34 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,208
You can cycle the icemaker manually by jumping the connectors on the front. It’s the method used for winterizing.
__________________
ILB ( | )
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 09:52 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Plantation, FL
Posts: 20
Are you sure your freezer is cold enough to freeze the water? I believe there is a temp sensor that activates the solenoid. If the temp is not low enough it will not fill with water.
ICanFixIt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 02:31 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 222
Duckogram not sure what 2 connectors on the front you are talking about. I don't see any on the icemaker and I've taken the side panel where the gears are off. I did jumper the relay in the outside access point and filled the icemaker with water. I thought it might start working after the ice froze but it didn't. I have the refrigerator set on 5 and its 23 degrees inside the freezing compartment.
Thanks
RON
asparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 02:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,208
I posted pics of the icemaker i am referring to way back in another section. Ill see if i can find it.
__________________
ILB ( | )
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2018, 07:29 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,208
Quote:
Originally Posted by Duckogram View Post
I posted pics of the icemaker i am referring to way back in another section. Ill see if i can find it.
Could not find the photo but did find this. If you jump V - L you will cycle the fill solenoid. If you jump T - H you will bypass the temp switch. I used a piece of 12 solid but you can use a paper clip with some electrical tape to make a place to hold it.
Attached Images
 
__________________
ILB ( | )
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 11:54 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 222
Duckogram
I'm not sure we have the same icemaker. All I can see was 2 white gears. I'll take a look today again, maybe I missed the contact points. Its hard to see the way its installed.
Thanks again
RON
asparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2018, 01:42 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Duckogram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 2,208
This is the standard for most RV applications. Had one in my double door dometic in an 03 Jayco and in a whirlpool residential in my Cedar Creek. The cover faces the front of the fridge.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1EEA18B3-B5A8-4A75-A2C1-A57A7E06FD5A.jpeg
Views:	23
Size:	62.2 KB
ID:	175476   Click image for larger version

Name:	E66B9799-877B-41F6-9A6C-40A896BB2BB5.jpeg
Views:	18
Size:	70.4 KB
ID:	175477  
__________________

__________________
ILB ( | )
Duckogram is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
door, refrigerator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:26 PM.