Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-17-2013, 08:50 PM   #1

3100ss owners?

I am looking at a 2004 3100ss with 33000 miles anyone have one? Any special issues with coach or E450 V10?
rekwiat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2013, 09:42 PM   #2

Rekwiat, I am just seeing your post so I am not sure if you have made the purchase yet or not. I recently bought a 2005 3100ss with 53k miles. We have camped in it three times so far and I have been really happy with it. This is my first RV so I am still learning, but we have really been happy with our purchase. Had to learn the hard way that these units have 3 tanks, but other than that all has gone smooth.
mccoyag01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2013, 05:23 AM   #3

We have a 2011 model 3100SS that we bought new. It now has 29,000 miles on it and we’ve used it almost 300 nights. We’ve had no problems related to the model. The problems we’ve had are minor and could have occurred with any motorhome.

The V-10 engine has been totally reliable. All I have done is change the oil and filter. Almost every mile has been towing a 4,000 pound Nissan Pathfinder, sometimes in the Rockies at 10,000+ foot elevation and 8% grades. The coolant gauge never moved during a 10 mile, 45 mph climb on a 7% grade at 100+ degrees. The five speed transmission has likewise been trouble free and has never overheated. I change the oil under the “Heavy Duty” service schedule, and plan to change the transmission fluid and filter when it comes up, too. This is off your topic, but just in case, I carry a spare drive belt (only Ford had one), one ignition coil and a few new spark plugs. Also, the transmission uses a specific fluid, so be careful that you get the right one if you need any.