Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-28-2014, 10:16 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
hockeytownmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 1,126
3170 power questions

So I just did an experiment. I'm using shore power and we shut off the battery disconnect and lost the TV and all lights. Do they not run on shore power at all? Am I missing something?

Any way to use electrical outlets during travel?
__________________

__________________
Kristina & Family
2015 Sunseeker 3170ds
'13 Honda Pilot -Kar Kaddy 3

Nights camped in 2011/36, 2012/9, 2013/24, 2014/27; 2015/50 2016: 34
hockeytownmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 10:20 AM   #2
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,485
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeytownmom View Post
So I just did an experiment. I'm using shore power and we shut off the battery disconnect and lost the TV and all lights. Do they not run on shore power at all? Am I missing something?

Any way to use electrical outlets during travel?
The lights are 12 volt.
I guess your tv must be 12 volt as well?
Furnace and fridge require 12 volt.
Water pump requires 12 volt.

Outlets Will only work with shore power unless you have an inverter and a pretty good battery bank.



TURBS.
__________________

TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 10:50 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,042
Doesn't this type of RV have a converter and a genny?
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 11:55 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: iowa
Posts: 285
turbs is correct and yes you can use any thing you want to when you travel just start the generator .
lbrunning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 12:03 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
hockeytownmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 1,126
Please forgive my confusion or stupidity, which is what I could be experiencing. LOL. I get they're all 12 volts but what does that have to do with those items not running off of shore power alone?




Thanks for the outlet info. We haven't learned too much about our generator yet. Just using the basics at the moment.
__________________
Kristina & Family
2015 Sunseeker 3170ds
'13 Honda Pilot -Kar Kaddy 3

Nights camped in 2011/36, 2012/9, 2013/24, 2014/27; 2015/50 2016: 34
hockeytownmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 12:23 PM   #6
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 18,774
Quote:
Originally Posted by hockeytownmom View Post
Please forgive my confusion or stupidity, which is what I could be experiencing. LOL. I get they're all 12 volts but what does that have to do with those items not running off of shore power alone?.

Yes, they're 12v. When you're plugged into shore power, your camper's converter converts the 120v to 12v. Most converters are supposed to work without a battery, but some require it. It sounds like you're requires it. When you disconnect the battery, your converter doesn't have it any more and therefore your 12v stuff doesn't work.
__________________
2018 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling a 2017 Spartan 1245 by Prime Time
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 12:33 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
hockeytownmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 1,126
Oh, okay then. Good to know, thank you!
__________________
Kristina & Family
2015 Sunseeker 3170ds
'13 Honda Pilot -Kar Kaddy 3

Nights camped in 2011/36, 2012/9, 2013/24, 2014/27; 2015/50 2016: 34
hockeytownmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 03:11 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 4,042
I could be wrong again but the OP did not physically disconnect the battery he/she used the storage disconnect. Although don't know what kind of disconnect it is. Isn't the converter in parallel with the battery? Seems if you don't want the battery to over charge while on shore power should be able to remove it from circuit with no loss of 12V to the unit. Oh well.
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 03:22 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
hockeytownmom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: South Lyon, MI
Posts: 1,126
Here's my battery disconnect.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WP_20141128_003.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	187.1 KB
ID:	66915  
__________________
Kristina & Family
2015 Sunseeker 3170ds
'13 Honda Pilot -Kar Kaddy 3

Nights camped in 2011/36, 2012/9, 2013/24, 2014/27; 2015/50 2016: 34
hockeytownmom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2014, 04:36 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,333
If you are plugged into shore power, the convertor should supply 12 volts to the coach even with dead batteries or with the battery disconnect switch off. The convertor does not need a battery in the system to do its job. (Some say it's not good for the convertor to run without a battery to charge against, but that's another discussion.) If you are plugged in and have 120 volts (proven by microwave and air conditioner working) but loose 12 volts when you switch the battery disconnect off, then you have a problem with your convertor or you do not actually have 120 volts coming into the coach.


Are you SURE you have 120 volts going into the coach? Have you checked that either the microwave or air conditioner works? You could be plugged in but the circuit breaker at the shore line supply or the main breaker in your coach could be tripped.


Basic information that you may already know:


The shore line supplies 120 volts to the convertor which converts power to 12 volts, and supplies it to the coach power distribution panel in parallel with the batteries. The shore line also supplies 120 volts to the 120 volt side of the same power distribution panel. If you look at the panel you will see fuses on the 12 volt side and circuit breakers on the 120 volt side.


The convertor receives 120 volts from one of the circuit breakers in the power distribution panel, and feeds 12v volts back to the 12 volt side of the panel.


Here's a possiblilty: The convertor has two fuses on it. Are both okay? On our Sunseeker 3100, you can see the fuses on the convertor in the utility compartment where the shore line is stored.
__________________

__________________
RamblerGuy
2011 Sunseeker 3100
2016 Ford Edge Toad
RamblerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3170, power

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30 PM.