Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-23-2016, 07:49 PM   #1
Member
 
Frankie Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lehigh Valley
Posts: 54
AC won't shut off automatically

My AC keeps running no matter how high I set thermostat it will only manually shut off. I would appreciate any suggestions on what could be causing this.

Thanks




Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
Frankie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 07:53 PM   #2
Georgia Frog Rally 2017
 
aceinspp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: GA
Posts: 7,944
Is it set to auto or manual? Later RJD
__________________

__________________
2015 35 FT V-Lite 30WRLIKS Diamond Package
2015 Chevy 2500 6.0 4:10 gearing.
Days booked for 2016--60 missed by 2
Days camped in 2016 58
Days booked so far in 2017 37
aceinspp is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 08:31 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
5picker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: South Western PA
Posts: 2,420
You may have it set to continually run the fan part of your A/C. The compressor cycles but the fan never shuts off. As mentioned, check the thermostat's fan setting.
__________________
_________________________________________
2016 Flagstaff 8529IKBS Diamond Package 5th Wheel
Ford F-Series SCREW 4x4
TST Tire Monitor - Sinemate 3500w Gen.
2016 Nights Camped = 46
5picker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 08:37 PM   #4
Member
 
Frankie Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lehigh Valley
Posts: 54
I will have to check the week of the 4th when I go out again. I hadn't thought of the fan just running I was assuming the AC was running also I'm not sure. I will have to pay closer attention but I know I had ac on automatic not manual.

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Frankie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2016, 10:59 PM   #5
MH Noob
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Part Timer
Posts: 133
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankie Z View Post
I will have to check the week of the 4th when I go out again. I hadn't thought of the fan just running I was assuming the AC was running also I'm not sure. I will have to pay closer attention but I know I had ac on automatic not manual.

Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
I ran into the same thing when I first got mine - somehow managed to take it off of Auto when messing around with the thermostat.....
__________________
Slimjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2016, 11:59 AM   #6
Chief tinkerer
 
Gidyupgo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 368
Frankie, you may already know this but I didn't. I discovered on ours, as you cycle through Heat, AC, Fan, Furnace, on the thermostat you stop on Fan and use the up down buttons to change from fan auto, high, low.
__________________
Gary

2017 SunSeeker 3010DS
Gidyupgo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 08:10 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Wolverine 1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SouthWest Michigan
Posts: 2,214
There is always the chance that you have a bad thermostat,,,
Maybe it got damaged on its trip here from China ???
__________________
Wolverine 1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2016, 06:15 PM   #8
Member
 
Frankie Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Lehigh Valley
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gidyupgo View Post
Frankie, you may already know this but I didn't. I discovered on ours, as you cycle through Heat, AC, Fan, Furnace, on the thermostat you stop on Fan and use the up down buttons to change from fan auto, high, low.

I didn't even know the fan had different speeds
Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
Frankie Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 06:54 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Wolverine 1945's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: SouthWest Michigan
Posts: 2,214
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankie Z View Post
I didn't even know the fan had different speeds
Thanks


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
I don't think it does ???
__________________
Wolverine 1945 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2016, 10:35 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 281
I don't know if all of the units have multi speed fans but mine does...the 15k unit with heat pump. The fan can be set to high, low or auto. If set to high or low the fan runs all the time. If set to auto it kicks on and off with the compressor. It is easy to hear the difference in the sound when the compressor is running versus just the fan. Depending on the situation, I use it both ways. For instance at night, the sound of the fan running constantly is less likely to wake me up then for the unit to turn on and off each time the compressor cycles.
__________________

__________________
jrwalkerpa1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.