Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-14-2016, 01:17 PM   #31
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by MOODMAN View Post
One thing I would like to have seen in that diagram from DAVEL1971 is where the wire is connected on the backside of the receptacles. In other words, which holes in the plug go to which wires!
It's on the pdf file in post #2 from Flybob.

That pdf and much more comes from here:

http://www.myrv.us/electric/index.htm
__________________

__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 01:55 PM   #32
KAS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by budblack View Post
Be sure that the electrician knows it is for 30 amp RV service, not household service. The receptacles are different.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
Unless you want to use the outlet for other purposes also, in which case you can use an adapter on the RV power cord plug to make it fit a regular 30A outlet. That's what I did and it works great.
__________________

__________________
KAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 02:07 PM   #33
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,550
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAS View Post
Unless you want to use the outlet for other purposes also, in which case you can use an adapter on the RV power cord plug to make it fit a regular 30A outlet. That's what I did and it works great.
If you are saying you put a standard 3 prong 120V 20A household outlet on a 30A circuit, you could have a problem. Most electrical prohibit this.
__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 02:15 PM   #34
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 129
I ordered a Connecticut RV box from Home Depot. It has 50/30/15 amp plug ins. Had an electrician run the lines. No problems.
__________________
Rick_Geneseo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 02:18 PM   #35
KAS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flybob View Post
If you are saying you put a standard 3 prong 120V 20A household outlet on a 30A circuit, you could have a problem. Most electrical prohibit this.
My MH came with adapter for the power cord. Why would they include it unless it is legal? I have also used a SHORT 10-gauge extension cord with a regular plug in the past with no problems (as long as it's 30A).
__________________
KAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 02:31 PM   #36
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAS View Post
My MH came with adapter for the power cord. Why would they include it unless it is legal? I have also used a SHORT 10-gauge extension cord with a regular plug in the past with no problems (as long as it's 30A).

He is correct.

30 amp breaker feeding a 20 amp outlet. ( bad idea)

The adapter is the other way.

20 amp house feeding a 30/50 amp coach.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 02:33 PM   #37
KAS
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: VIRGINIA
Posts: 191
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenny kustom View Post
He is correct.

30 amp breaker feeding a 20 amp outlet. ( bad idea)

The adapter is the other way.

20 amp house feeding a 30/50 amp coach.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
The outlet is 30A, installed by an electrician.
__________________
KAS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 02:38 PM   #38
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 39
Add both a 30 and 50 amp for the future.
__________________
rwatson908 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 02:38 PM   #39
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAS View Post
The outlet is 30A, installed by an electrician.

Perfect!


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2016, 02:49 PM   #40
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 122
RV plug

Other contributors are right in that it's 30amps of 110 and not 220 but you might ask him how much more to run a 50amp 110 wire so if you upgrade in the future you just need to change the breaker and the outlet.
__________________

__________________
DocRob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 PM.