Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-13-2016, 07:54 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 440
Adding RV Plug At House

We are considering adding an RV plug at the house (along with some other work). An electrician is coming tomorrow morning to do an estimate. I know nothing about electric. What do I need to tell the electrician for the RV plug? I know 30 amps (and I have a picture of the prongs so he knows which plug). Is there anything else such as volts to tell him?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
All previous rigs below are sold - waiting until the kids graduate to the buy the next one!
'13 Forest River Sunseeker 3100 Class C
'04 Fleetwood Sedona Pop Up / Reese Mini 350 / Prodigy / BAL
'94 Coleman Cedar Pop Up
paulmlac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 07:58 PM   #2
Site Team
 
Flybob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 5,570
Make sure you tell him it is 30A 120V service not 220V. See attached.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf 30-amp Service.pdf (64.7 KB, 310 views)
__________________

__________________

2015 Freedom Express 248RBS
TV 2015 Silverado HD2500 Duramax
TST Tire Monitors
Honda 2000I + Companion
2 100W solar panels
Flybob is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 08:10 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
davel1971's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Seaford, De
Posts: 2,317
here's another look at it. Shows both 30 and 50 amp in this one.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	rv-service1.JPG
Views:	269
Size:	69.0 KB
ID:	97791  
__________________
David & Lynn
2014 Coachmen Chaparral Signature 327 RLKS
2016 Ford F350 Lariat CC Dually
davel1971 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 08:33 PM   #4
Site Team
 
wmtire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Northeast Louisiana
Posts: 15,048
Just print out the pdf file to hand to your electrician that Flybob posted above, and you should be good to go.

He just needs to make sure he understands that it's 120 volt ONLY.

We also keep a copy of that pdf in the FAQ section (link below), just so everyone knows for future reference:

http://www.forestriverforums.com/for...let-27223.html
__________________
2011 Flagstaff 831 RLBSS

Ducks are just all-terrain chickens
wmtire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 08:38 PM   #5
Site Team
 
Mr. Dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Grayson County, Texas
Posts: 6,270
I suggest you consider the day when you might want to move to a 50A trailer - pull enough wire of the right gauge to support 50A so you don't have to get into the wall if you change trailers.
__________________
SEARCH is your friend!
FR Wildcat 295RSX / GMC Sierra

Nights Camped: '13 = 49 / '14 = 74 / '15 = 74 / '16 = 85 / '17 = 110 / '18 = 0; booked = 28
Mr. Dan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 08:55 PM   #6
Citrus County, Fl.
 
GL1800Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hernando, Fl
Posts: 1,229
I ran my 50 amp TT off the 30 amp that has #10 wire along with a dog bone. As long as you only turn on one AC it's fine. But, you may want to get an estimate for each type and decide what you want to do
__________________
2016 Forester 3011DS
2017 Toyota Corolla SE toad
PREVIOUS: 2015 Flagstaff 832IKBS
99 Terry 31G
GL1800Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 09:07 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Brother Les's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: BoCoMo
Posts: 1,803
imo.....put in the 50 amp and you can dog bone that down to a 30amp.
__________________
Brother Les

2013 Forest River Salem Hemisphere SBT312QBUD

2001 CrewCab F-250 7.3 PowerStroke Diesel
SuperChip, BTS transmission, 6.0 Trans Cooler
Brother Les is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 09:11 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brother Les View Post
imo.....put in the 50 amp and you can dog bone that down to a 30amp.

I agree!


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 09:13 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Frederica DE
Posts: 948
If you want just 30 amp ask for a TT 30R receptacle. Everyone here is offering good advise. I'm with GL1800rider 30 amp service is OK majority of time at home. I'm not an electrician but most homes have just 200 amp service. Putting in a 50 amp receptacle will consume 100 amps of the 200 available(not that you would actually use all 100 amps but you could). Most honest electricians will advise against it. Plus it will be cheaper to install.
__________________

2016 Ford F250 XLT 4X4 6.2L
2015 Rockwood Signature Ultralite 8329SS
Hensley Arrow
Nights camping in 2017: 20 nights
Miles traveled in 2017: 1,530
uhduh camping is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2016, 09:21 PM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Central Wyoming
Posts: 72
200 amp service on the typical home is 200 amps per 120v leg. Likewise 50 amp service is 50 amps per 120 v leg, not 100 amps as you state.
__________________

__________________
WY Husker Fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:35 AM.