Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-20-2014, 03:05 PM   #1

Another rookie question

Newbie here! Looking to plug into the house to try to cool the fridge overnight before a trip. When I do this, what position should the battery disconnect switch be in? On or off?
Thanks again to everyone who has been answering my previous questions.
beachbum107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 03:16 PM   #2

On
biznsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2014, 03:19 PM   #3

Turn the battery disconnect to "ON" any time you hook up the power cable. This will charge your battery plus it's not good for the inverter to run "no load" (battery disconnected) The battery disconnect switch is there to disconnect the battery so it won't discharge while the unit is in storage / not being used. So, OFF when in storage, ON when in use!
dpowli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2014, 04:25 AM   #4

You can also run the refrigerator on propane to pre-cool it before a trip. The battery disconnect would still have to be on, as the refrigerator requires 12 volt power for the control circuits whether on shore power or propane.

2012 Forest River Sunseeker 2300 Chevy
Old 09-25-2014, 08:03 AM   #5

I also learned on the forum that if you put one of the little battery powered fans in the fridge on start up it will help the unit cool quicker ie. 6 hours instead of overnight
Not sure if it's necessary after that but I might try it
'93 Coleman pop ups (I'm Dad)
'04 Fleetwood Jamboree 26q
'14 Sunseeker 2860DS
trdutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2014, 12:42 PM   #6

I found it best to only place precooled stuff in the fridge when filling for a trip. The fan will help especially to maintain things cold when full.