Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2014, 02:06 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
wesslvm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 202
Anyone wired their MH for HDTV?

Considering how I might setup my coach for HD. I have sattelite setup with a single tuner (capable of two tuners) and I want to watch TV simultaneously on at least two of the three TVs.

I have tried using the coax that is installed but the picture quality is poor, I think due to the low quality coax. Considering HDMI matrix switch, but challenged with how to route the cables.

Anybody out there actually done this?

Wes
__________________

__________________
2014 Sunseeker 3050S
Honda CRV (TOAD)
wesslvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 03:29 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Evereddie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 2,065
To get High Def into a coax cable would take a High Def modulator and they are crazy expensive. So running HDMI cables not an option? They do make an HDMI wireless extender for a fairly reasonable price. I think some can be got for around $180.00. Google "Wireless HDMI Extender".

This one looks good but I don't have an experience with it. Best Wireless HDMI Video Transmitter | The Wirecutter
__________________

__________________
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 04:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
wesslvm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evereddie View Post

This one looks good but I don't have an experience with it. Best Wireless HDMI Video Transmitter | The Wirecutter
That is actually a good option, thanks for the link!
__________________
2014 Sunseeker 3050S
Honda CRV (TOAD)
wesslvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 06:12 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
I've been considering the same thing.
Here are my thoughts...

I have a tripod with a Direct TV dish I set up once we get wherever ( I dug the dish out of someones trash and replaced the LNB for about $50 + the power inserter) it uses the newer SWM system so I could feasibly just add more (up to 4) receivers and utilize the coax that's already in the coach.


This would give me HD on every TV that has a receiver. I realize that your plan is to just split the output from 1 receiver and run it to multiple TVs. I considered that too.

I just wonder if for the cost of the wireless HDMI device, couldn't you buy a second receiver, or just rent for $7 per month, and then watch whatever you want on different TVs in HD?

If you do invest in the wireless HDMI I'd love to know how it works.
__________________
howzball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 08:34 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
bb920's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Green Bay, WI
Posts: 139
See the "New Sunseeker 3010DS Were do I put... " link. Good answers in that thread.
__________________
Bill & Kay
Green Bay, WI
2016 FR Berkshire 38A
bb920 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2014, 09:03 PM   #6
Member
 
richard rv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lexington sc 29073
Posts: 92
Howzball.
Hi. I have a direct tv dish in good condition and a receiver w/card. How did u put yours together. I have a motorhome and new to all this stuff.just started camping with my dw. Over the air reception is poor at most of our state parks
__________________
richard rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 03:04 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
raoulwv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cape Coral, FL
Posts: 177
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesslvm View Post
Considering how I might setup my coach for HD. I have sattelite setup with a single tuner (capable of two tuners) and I want to watch TV simultaneously on at least two of the three TVs.

I have tried using the coax that is installed but the picture quality is poor, I think due to the low quality coax. Considering HDMI matrix switch, but challenged with how to route the cables.

Anybody out there actually done this?

Wes
After looking at some pictures of a 3050, it looks like it would be fairly simple to run cables to the front TV and the exterior TV. I assume you would place your receiver somewhere in the cab-over space. Just run one cable to the TV there and run a second behind the sofa for the outside TV. You will probably have to drill a hole in the interior wall, but the sofa should hide it. A simple HDMI splitter will suffice.

As far as the bedroom TV goes, let's not get carried away, watch that in SD. If you're not getting a clear picture there, the coax connectors may not be crimped properly. I doubt there's anything wrong with the cable itself.
__________________
Rod & Carla B.
The Hounds Kooper & Abby
2015 Sunseeker 3010; '14 Ford Focus toad
raoulwv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 06:51 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard rv View Post
Howzball.
Hi. I have a direct tv dish in good condition and a receiver w/card. How did u put yours together. I have a motorhome and new to all this stuff.just started camping with my dw. Over the air reception is poor at most of our state parks
I just use one of the portable tripods, set the dish up on a perfectly plumb mast, connect the coax to the input on the outside of the coach then disconnect the small jumper coax inside the coach and connect the receiver. I have to run the coax through the power inserter.
Then it's just a matter of aiming the dish, use dish pointer.com and your compass (cell phone) and you should be up in minutes.

I've heard if you're using the older Direct TV setup, not the SWM stuff then, finding a satellite is even easier but I haven't had any trouble aligning the SWM setup. On our last trip we were setup and watching the hockey playoffs in 5 minutes.

Set it all up in your driveway and try it first.
__________________
howzball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2014, 07:43 PM   #9
Member
 
richard rv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Lexington sc 29073
Posts: 92
Thanks
I'll try tomorrow and let Ya'll if this works
__________________
Richard & midget
Lexington sc
Jack our camping dog
richard rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2014, 11:03 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
I better mention that this only game me satellite on the front overhead TV, we only had one receiver. This doesn't solve the question from the original post but, I have no doubt it can be done.

Sent from my Nexus 10 using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________

__________________
howzball is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08 PM.