Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-23-2015, 10:28 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 47
AV interference from Converter

We have a 2014 3050s, and all of a sudden it has developed a pulse interference through the Magnadyne dash system whenever the battery disconnect is disabled and the converter is charging the batts. Only way to get rid of it is disconnecting the batts through the disconnect switch.

Never had this problem, and not sure why it has started all of a sudden. Tried searching for others with this problem, but no luck so far. Anyone have any related issues or possible solutions? Really hate to have to go back to the dealer yet again... Have been there WAY too much for warranty repairs since purchase.

Thanks in advance!
__________________

__________________
mattnlisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 01:56 PM   #2
Citrus County, Fl.
 
GL1800Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hernando, Fl
Posts: 1,230
Being a 2014 it probably has a WFCO converter and is out of warranty. If so, I would suggest replacing it with a Progressive Dynamics (PD9260CV) charge wizard which you can get thru Amazon for under $200 and do it yourself. Make sure you get the pendant with it which allows you to monitor what the charge wizard is doing and lets you manually override it if necessary. This unit has a two year warranty thru the manufacturer, does a better job of maintaining the batteries and is quieter than the WFCO.
__________________

__________________
2016 Forester 3011DS
2017 Toyota Corolla SE toad
PREVIOUS: 2015 Flagstaff 832IKBS
99 Terry 31G
GL1800Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 04:12 PM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 47
Its still under warranty, and eventually i plan to upgrade to the PD converter. More concerned at this point as to what is causing the issue as the fault may lie somewhere else.
__________________
mattnlisa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2015, 05:38 PM   #4
Citrus County, Fl.
 
GL1800Rider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Hernando, Fl
Posts: 1,230
I guess if it's under warranty then sadly, it will require a trip to the dealer. If the converter is bad, Forest River will likely replace with the PD which would save the expense you would have doing it on your own later.
__________________
2016 Forester 3011DS
2017 Toyota Corolla SE toad
PREVIOUS: 2015 Flagstaff 832IKBS
99 Terry 31G
GL1800Rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 06:44 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Gaylord, MI
Posts: 156
I believe these devices have to meet the FCC rules for interference. If so, it should be replaced free of charge.
__________________
biznsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2015, 05:40 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 125
Sounds like you may have a GROUND problem. Check the ground lead input cable on your power distribution panel.
__________________

__________________
saltyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.