Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-11-2014, 05:13 PM   #1
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 34
Cable hookup

Newbie looking to figure out how to work tvs on my 3170. Tried plugging into my homr cable just to see if I could work outside tv, couldn't get to to work. An help would be appreciated. I'm thinking of buying the tailgater from dish network if anyone had one and could explain how to run it and what I need to do with all the connections in the cabinet next to main tv please help!

beachbum107 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 05:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
themounties's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Moundsville Wv
Posts: 1,195
Did you make sure your antenna booster is off? Can't help you with dish, don't have one.

themounties is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 08:07 PM   #3
Senior Member
Evereddie's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Pfafftown NC
Posts: 1,627
In my trailer and most I have read about the outside TV usually is not wired to get the cable signal when you attach it to the trailer. The outside TV only gets a signal from the antenna. With a little know how this can be rewired.
Evereddie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2014, 11:41 PM   #4
Senior Member
NicelyRoo's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: PA
Posts: 107
We have directv, so we just bought an hd satellite dish on amazon and use an extra receiver we have. We do have to set it up each time, but it only takes minutes to figure out where to point the dish with the help of an app he downloaded to his phone. We do not get local channels, but we can just use the antenna for that. Only cost us around $80. Now to solve the problem of outside, my dh added another outlet panel that has the ports to plug into hdmi and some other things. It looks like it came from the factory installed. We are able to watch our satellite outside and even use our playstation for movies and games!!

Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums

2015 F150 SCrew 3.5 Eco
2014 ROO 21DK
Nights camped 2014: 23
Nights camped 2015: 23
NicelyRoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 04:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
Scootdawg's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Western New York
Posts: 451
On our 2900 we have to press the little button on the outlet that the Main tv plugs into which kills the antenna power booster, then you can use cable
Scootdawg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 07:26 PM   #6
bclemens's Avatar
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 5,064
^^what they said^^ all TV's are wired to the coax cable. So if you feed a cable line into the park cable entry point...that feeds all the TV's. Booster has to be off as mentioned.

If all the TV's get over the air channels. That is the same exact coax that feeds sat too.
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message, my inbox fills up too quickly. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only (VIN, Contact info or things you do not want the public to see).
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 07:52 PM   #7
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 50
I have a 3170ds 2013 what would the location of the antenna power booster switch? Thanks
scoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 08:31 PM   #8
Senior Member
wesslvm's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 202
Cable hookup

Not all have power booster button, mine just has a box with input selection buttons for front, rear, and outside TVs. I think the boost is enabled when the antenna input is selected.

Also, I have portable Dish Like this one:

I bungee cord it to my A/C unit on the roof and connect to my park cable connection and feed receiver inside. I have made other mods so I now can watch HD TV on any or all TVs.


2014 Sunseeker 3050S

Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
2014 Sunseeker 3050S
Honda CRV (TOAD)
wesslvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2014, 09:32 PM   #9
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 41
I have the 3170 as well and there is no antenna booster button on that model. Most likely you have the magnadyne switchbox. Above the dinette in the cabinet in mine. Hook up to park cable outside and select cable on all TVs on the switchbox.

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
rdeiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2014, 07:05 PM   #10
Senior Member
Hoglou's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 562

Here's a question... We have a factory king dome on our 2300. So where does the coax connection in the rear driver bay connect to?

Hoglou westGA
KM4HQQ 146.640mhz
L'IL Foot" 2014 Sunseeker 2300
"Harry" the JK toad in the mirror
Hoglou is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:21 PM.