Old 09-21-2015, 11:27 AM   #1

Chevy Ford Sunseeker 2300

Hi,
I'm a newbie here. I'm ready to purchase a 2016 Sunseeker 2300 and have the option of buying one with the Chevy 4500 chassis or ordering one with the Ford 350 chassis. I've seen some of the postings discussing the pros and cons of each, but am looking for some real-world experiences similar to what I expect to encounter. Although I drove the Chevy and it seemed adequately powered, the drive was limited to flat land and no dinghy. I plan to tow a Chevy Sonic (a little less than 3,000 lbs.) and spend time in the mountains. I was wondering if any of the Chevy chassis owners would share their thoughts if they drive in the mountains and pull a dinghy. Do any owners of the Chevy wish they had gotten a Ford instead? The cheaper cost, extra cockpit room, and reputed 1-2 mpg advantage in gas mileage make me favor the Chevy, but I wonder if the lesser torque or some other negatives should change my mind. Is finding places to work on the Chevy an issue since most motorhomes are Fords? Also, I wonder if the gas mileage advantage would disappear and even favor the Ford if the Chevy has to work harder than the Ford when towing or climbing. The lower cargo carrying capacity of the Ford doesn't bother me since I will be the only occupant.
Thanks,
Roger

Old 09-21-2015, 11:35 AM   #2

I don't tow. However, to me the Chevy I own is:

- more comfortable
- better visibility
- better fuel economy
- better ride and handling

I have nothing against Ford at all. Just my opinion. Love my Chevy 2300 and it has plenty of power even on some very steep terrain. I have not towed but have no fear of power when it comes time (given a reasonable TOAD).

Old 09-21-2015, 12:23 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by DocsDad View Post
I don't tow. However, to me the Chevy I own is:

- more comfortable
- better visibility
- better fuel economy
- better ride and handling