Old 03-09-2013, 10:08 AM   #1

So I am a newbie, heading out on my first long trip today (Saturday). Thursday night I went out and started the fridge up. Friday morning everything looked good. We loaded it up and I even ran the generator for a hour to recharge the batteries. Saturday morning I came out and everything was dead. The batteries must have given out Friday night, because the fridge was now warm. Shouldn't the batteries last longer than that? Any ideas what I did wrong? How long does the generator take to recharge the coach batteries?

Old 03-09-2013, 10:03 PM   #2

Yes the batteries should last much longer. Were they fully charged after the generator run? Using the generator to charge the batteries is a very costly and inefficient method. Can't you run a simple extension cord to plug in? Don't need much current to run frig and charge batteries.

Old 03-09-2013, 10:57 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachPJG View Post
So I am a newbie, heading out on my first long trip today (Saturday). Thursday night I went out and started the fridge up. Friday morning everything looked good. We loaded it up and I even ran the generator for a hour to recharge the batteries. Saturday morning I came out and everything was dead. The batteries must have given out Friday night, because the fridge was now warm. Shouldn't the batteries last longer than that? Any ideas what I did wrong? How long does the generator take to recharge the coach batteries?