Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-28-2016, 11:00 AM   #1
geezer with gadgets
 
757Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: SE Virginia
Posts: 459
Converter has died

My converter has died. Had the elecrician came and checked and he confirmed the death.

I'm looking at the progressive dynamics converter with the charge wizard for replacement. The old WFCO unit is 55 amp (MH is 30 amp). Do I need to match the amps to the old unit? I can find 45 amp, 60 amp, etc., but not 55 amp.

Thanks in advance for your help.

__________________

__________________


Sent from my Atari 2600
2011 Sunseeker 3170ds "Ladybug"
2017 Jeep Grand Cherokee TOAD
Days camped 2015: 37; 2016: 66; 2017: 86
757Dave is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 11:33 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,340
You can go up to the 60. No problem.


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________

__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 11:34 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Stank Bait's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NE Florida
Posts: 177
Think this may be what you are looking to find.
55 Amp (PD4655V)

Inteli-Power 55 Amp Converter/Charger
Model #PD4655V replaces these converter sections: Parallax/Magnatek #6355, Parallax #7355, Parallax #7155,
Parallax #8355, WFCO™ #8955
__________________
2013 Flagstaff 831FKBSS
Stank Bait is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 11:44 AM   #4
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Converter has died

I have one for sale.
Drop in replacement.
New in the box never opened.
http://www.bestconverter.com/8955MBA...l#.VqpFLkVOLCQ

Randy at best converter recommend this over a progressive dynamics.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 11:49 AM   #5
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Can ship today!


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 11:52 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Kenny kustom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Posts: 3,340
Quote:
Originally Posted by TURBS View Post
I have one for sale.
Drop in replacement.
New in the box never opened.
http://www.bestconverter.com/8955MBA...l#.VqpFLkVOLCQ

Randy at best converter recommend this over a progressive dynamics.


2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"

Best bet right here!!


2016 Sabre 36QBOK
2015 Ram 3500 CUMMINS
__________________
2017 Dynamax Isata 4
Kenny kustom is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 01:31 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,586
One advantage of the Progressive Dynamics line is that you can connect a pendant and FORCE the converter to go into boost mode. This means that if you boondocking and using a generator, you can maximize the few hours of run time to get as much battery charge as possible. The PowerMax does not appear to offer any manual control of charge level. If you aren't boondocking it really doesn't matter.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 01:52 PM   #8
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,336
Boondocker also has a a boost mode 14.6v

KEY FEATURES:
14.6 Boost Mode Output
13.6 Normal Mode Output
13.2 Float (trickle) Mode Output
Built-in desulfation cycle
Over-temp, Over-current Protection
Temperature tested to 160 F
105-130 VAC Input Operation
Reversed Polarity Voltage Protection
>85% Efficiency
Safe, Cool, Quiet & Reliable Operation
<1% Load Regulation
Constant Current Charging Technology
Filtered DC Output (Works with or without a battery)
Thermostatically Controlled, Variable Speed Quiet Cooling Fan
3 Year Hassle Free Limited Warranty





2015 Columbus 320RS
2008 2500HD Duramax
2015 nights camped "34"
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 05:09 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,586
For sure it does, no converter could work without one. However, you can't force it to go into Boost mode, it makes its own decision and when it drops out you get a very low charge rate. If you are persistently plugged in, that is no problem. However, if you are cranking a generator while boondocking, as soon as it drops out of boost, you get what you get.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 05:26 PM   #10
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
What happens if you forget the boost mode is on, since it is manual, and you run a long charge? Will it cook the batteries? I would think that a charger that monitors the charge level automatically would be better for the batteries in the long run.
__________________

__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:23 PM.