Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-11-2019, 09:34 AM   #1

Cummins Onan Generator won't start?

Won't start, tried removing the carburetor and cleaning the carburetor, major pain in the butt but went sort of ok, still couldn't get it to start, read somewhere that you couldn't rebuild these carburetors but instead had to replace them at a cost of about $350. Is that right and what do most folks here do about the generator issue? Also how much gas needs to be in the fuel tank in order for the Generator to get it's supply? 1/4 tank of gas ok?

These Briggs and Stratton generators run forever, years and years but the Onan if you don't start it up every month or so, carburetor plugs up. Don't understand that.
humblegoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 09:45 AM   #2

I'm no expert. But here's what I'd do. That doesn't mean I'm recommending to you. Could be dangerous.

But I lover ether. A little starter fluid has revived some of my landscape equipment many times. Your 1/4 tank may also be the issue. I can't remember if its the generator or the external pump that stops around 1/4 tank.

My Onan runs well but as you said, I start it every month or so and the fuel always has stabilizer.
KFX450RXC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2019, 10:48 AM   #3

You need a minimum 1/4 tank. Maybe more/less. Put 5 gallons in the tank and try again.
Old 01-11-2019, 03:48 PM   #4

We just had a problem getting ours to start, too. After changing the spark plug, using ether, etc., it still wouldn’t start. It turned out to be the generator’s oil level. Although it was on the stick, it was on the low side.

We added some, and it still wouldn’t start initially. Tried again later that afternoon and it started right up. Apparently the sensors needed to think a little bit about the oil level, even though the stick said full.
avid108 is offline   Reply With Quote