Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2013, 12:30 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 440
Another two thumbs up for this option. Wasn't planning on getting it if we ordered. However we bought a stock unit that already had it & love it. We have 4 holes in the roof. Bedroom & kitchen are just vents. Bathroom is an exhaust fan (1 speed) which I think is standard like in a house. Living area is where our "create a breeze" (3 speed) fan is. It does a lot to move air around. You could easily run AC during the day, turn it off at dusk, then turn this fan on to keep things cool. Well worth it.
__________________

__________________
paulmlac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-16-2013, 04:54 PM   #12
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by bclemens View Post
We also pre-wire every non-power vent just in case you want to add something later.
I did not know that, we wanted to add a fan to the bedroom but did not know how we would get the power there. That is very cool. Thank you.
__________________

__________________
colestat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 10:04 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 196
Just a warning on the cover from Fantastic that BC recommended - it's not like other brands that allow you to install without breaking the fan seal. Visit the Fantastic website and download the installation instructions before you buy, I did and was suprised. As I said, you need to remove the caulking at four points on the fan base and remove screws from the fan base.
__________________
mwebber78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 10:05 AM   #14
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,098
ooh, did not know that mwebber78. that does change things a bit.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 10:09 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 196
NP - I had actually ordered 3 of them and canceled my order after I wanted to be ahead of the curve and downloaded the instructions. Here are the instructions:

http://www.fantasticvent.com/product...%201_23_12.pdf

The instructions fail to mention that in order to remove 4 screws you need to remove 2 lbs. of caulking!
__________________
mwebber78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:40 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
stonekeepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 142
We had to drill additional holes because the Fantastic Fan had them in different places. Camping World sells the new caulk for about $8. It is on a roll and is very easy to apply. There was a lot of old caulk, but we didn't mind doing it. The vent by itself is of very little use in a camper the size of ours.

We needed additional ventilation in case we had to leave our dog inside. If it is too hot, we don't leaver her at all, but even when it is in the 70's outside, it can get hot inside. This fan will keep the interior cool. We used the one in our class B all the time and could not get by without it.
__________________
Let's Motor!!!

stonekeepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:41 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
stonekeepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 142
The fantastic fan runs on 12 volt so you don't have to use the generator or be plugged in to keep the coach cool. :-)
__________________
Let's Motor!!!

stonekeepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:46 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Garrette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 958
Install a max air II with out issue on my TT. Screws mount into the metal coming around the vent. Unit is Hinged so pull 2 pins to open and clean.
I like the Maxair II and plan to install them on my new 3170 DS (waiting on Delivery) as soon as possible.
Glad the vents are per wired. Hope a little sticker tells me where the wires are at..
__________________
Garrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:48 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
stonekeepers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Middle Tennessee
Posts: 142
On the 3010DS, you had to remove the vent to see the wires. They were capped off neatly tucked to one side in plain view. No sticker necessary.
__________________
Let's Motor!!!

stonekeepers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2013, 12:52 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Garrette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 958
Fantastic. Thanks. Looking forward to noodling out all of the systems. First class C. Big step for us.
__________________

__________________
Garrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:14 AM.