Old 09-07-2014, 12:36 PM   #1

Furnace Operation

I am still learning how to operate my RV. I have used the furnace in the past but I was not connected to shore power. Everything was fine and the furnace was nice an quite.

I was just testing everything out today and I noticed that when I turn on the furnace, the A/C comes on (I am assuming in heat pump mode). Is this normal. I do not want this because the A/C unit is rather loud. Is there a way to make sure the A/C does not come on when in furnace mode?

Here is a pic of my Thermostat.Click image for larger version

Name:	photo.jpg
Views:	204
Size:	408.2 KB
ID:	62291

Thanks,

Jeff

Old 09-07-2014, 12:40 PM   #2

Change the fan operation to auto.

Old 09-07-2014, 04:36 PM   #3

Furnace Operation

To elaborate. Press On-Off until it is set to "Fan". Use +or- key until display shows AU instead of LO or HI. Use On-Off to return to Furnace.

When fan is set to AU (Auto) it comes on with the Air Conditioning or Heat Pump and cycles on and off as needed. When set to Hi or Lo, it will run continuously whenever Air Conditioning or Heat Pump is selected. When Furnace is selected, the overhead (AC) fan will come on whenever the furnace is running (the condition you were experiencing). Of course, the Air Conditioning, Heat Pump, and its fan need 120v to run so this will only happen when on shore power or generator. The furnace (and its fan) only need 12v to run.

Note that the heat pump is not involved in this situation, only the fan. It you want heat pump, you need to set the thermostat to heat pump.

2012 Forest River Sunseeker 2300 Chevy
Old 09-08-2014, 06:42 AM   #4

I just figured this out on the weekend myself. Couldn't figure out why the A/C fan would never shut off. Then it was running when the furnace was on so I thought it must be a FAN setting.

I was impressed how quiet the furnace is in these things.
Old 09-08-2014, 08:33 AM   #5