Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2013, 08:23 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Hoglou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 721
Gen auto transfer switch

Question 2... How does the gen auto transfer switch work? Leaving the shore power connected (hot) is ok when you exercise the genset?
__________________

__________________
Hoglou westGA
KM4HQQ 146.640mhz
L'IL Foot" 2014 Sunseeker 2300
"Harry" the JK toad in the mirror
Hoglou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:29 PM   #2
Denver, CO
 
garbonz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 1,905
On auto the gen won't get much exercise unless you unplug the AC cord.
__________________

__________________
2007 Chevy 2500HD Classic LBZ Duramax/Allison (Stock)
2005 Bigfoot 1500C8.2 AWESOME
garbonz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:31 PM   #3
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Auto switch will default to shore power first .


TURBS
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 08:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
VinceU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 3,502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoglou View Post
Question 2... How does the gen auto transfer switch work? Leaving the shore power connected (hot) is ok when you exercise the genset?
Yes thats fine, the auto swith priority is shore power is 1st available supply, gen set will energize but will not accept load untill the shore power is removed (electrically, unplugging is not necessary). The switch coil inside the xfer switch is energize by shore power, therefore whenever its available it will be the supply. Defaults to Gen set on loss of shorepower.
__________________
VinceU is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 09:49 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Collinsville, IL
Posts: 830
Quote:
Originally Posted by VinceU View Post

Yes thats fine, the auto swith priority is shore power is 1st available supply, gen set will energize but will not accept load untill the shore power is removed (electrically, unplugging is not necessary). The switch coil inside the xfer switch is energize by shore power, therefore whenever its available it will be the supply. Defaults to Gen set on loss of shorepower.
When exercising the generator, it should be run with at least a 50% load on it. Therefore, you need to disconnect shore power so that the generator takes the load. Run something that puts load on it. I have the AC with heat pump, so I run the heat to exercise the generator.
__________________
2012 Forest River Sunseeker 2300 Chevy
RvBill3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 08:41 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Hoglou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 721
thanks to all..

Good info.. Keep teaching.. Don't want to destroy the coach, would rather wear it out.. Any major "don't do that" messages?
__________________
Hoglou westGA
KM4HQQ 146.640mhz
L'IL Foot" 2014 Sunseeker 2300
"Harry" the JK toad in the mirror
Hoglou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2013, 09:26 AM   #7
CLASS "A" Senior Member
 
cfsoistman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Upperco, Maryland
Posts: 3,135
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hoglou View Post
Good info.. Keep teaching.. Don't want to destroy the coach, would rather wear it out.. Any major "don't do that" messages?
Don't forget to plug your coach back in after exercising the generator. My personal favorite is Don't forget you're exercising the generator. Forgot mine once and left it running for about 5 hours., I was painting a room, finished, cleaned up, started watching TV, fell asleep and hours later when my Daughter came home she asked if I knew the generator was running on the motorhome?
__________________

2007 Georgetown 370TS
aka - RAYNMKR

Driver: Charlie
Navigator: Sheri
cfsoistman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 12:10 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
I have a Lexington 255 and a generator problem, the generator runs find but does not provide power to the coach. I just replaced both batteries as they were bad, since replacing them I haven't had any power to the coach from the generator. I have power to the coach with shore power. Any help would be most appreciated.
__________________
flyboy90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2013, 12:21 PM   #9
Plain Old Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Full Timing in South Louisiana
Posts: 1,938
flyboy90, sounds like a definite transfer switch problem. Pretty easy to replace one.
__________________
John and Rebecca Dickson
Emma-7 / Little John-5 / Iva-1
Full Timing Again, Rev B
2013 Ford F-350 Lariat CC LB PSD
2015 SOB TT - With OC's Awning Poles (#8)
At least in Heaven, RVs will be perfect, and I won't have to keep fixing them.
BigJohnD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2013, 10:32 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 5
Gen auto transfer switch

Could you possible tell me where that switch might be located on an Onan generator. Also could the switch be purchased locally or do I need to order a replacement from Onan? I have never had any trouble with anything like this in all my years of RVing, sort of feel like a newby right now. I sure appreciate your fast come back and info just need more. If possible I sure would appreciate any further help you could provide. Thanks again, John
__________________

__________________
flyboy90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:13 PM.