Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-14-2014, 10:50 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: iowa
Posts: 281
If its the load killing the generator before the breaker trips something is wrong with that engine.
__________________

__________________
lbrunning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 12:16 AM   #22
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 47
So normally when you overload a generator the circuit breaker trips without the generator shutting off?


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
Jlklingejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 05:55 AM   #23
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
AquaMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Tipp City, OH
Posts: 6,477
Does the generator have any type of "eco" setting? Not sure on built-in generators, but on my portable, it will run my A/C on full power, but not on eco. If I gradually load up the generator, it will run most everything just fine. It just won't take that first inital draw from the A/C all at once.
__________________
2016 Georgetown 364TS
Nights Camped 2017 - 49
AquaMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 06:44 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,254
Quote:
Originally Posted by lbrunning View Post
If its the load killing the generator before the breaker trips something is wrong with that engine.
I disagree. The starting load of the A/C is instantaneous and is several amps more than the running load. Breakers take a little time to trip out. They have to be this way to permit starting loads. The generator doesn't have the excess capacity that a shore line can supply so starting loads affect it more.
__________________
RamblerGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 07:06 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: iowa
Posts: 281
No the onan generator does not have an eco setting. For what it is worth here is how I run my sunseeker refrigerator on auto water heater on propane and ac on most of the time never had a problem with generator stopping or breaker tripping. I can run ac and microwave or hot plate or hair dryer and not trip breaker. I currently have 1027 hours on my generator trouble free. A couple other things to check is your fuel tank over 1/4 full and did you check oil level in generator .
__________________
lbrunning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2014, 10:17 AM   #26
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,081
What size is the A/C??? 13.5 or 15k with heat pump?
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 01:33 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
I don't know if there could be any special safeties on the Onan that doesn't like the wiring for your A/C?
I'm saying, *maybe* there is a wiring fault to your A/C that the shore power just doesn't worry about but the generator is sensing a problem and killing itself as a precaution.... IF this is even possible.

I have on one occasion had the Onan to shutdown as soon as we turned the A/C on but, I just restarted it and tried it again without any issue.
Mine was just a cold engine issue.

Again, *If* there are any safeties built into these generators then I would suspect that.
__________________
howzball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2014, 03:46 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 47
My A/C unit is a 13.5.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
Jlklingejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 06:24 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 47
I let my generator run for an hour with no load. Then I turned on the A/C and the A/C started right up. I am going to let it run for a couple of hours. Should I do this every time or should I take it in on warranty? I used to be able to start the A/C right away with no issues. Also I am at my 20 hour first oil change so am going to change the oil after it runs for 2 hours on the A/C.


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
Jlklingejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2014, 06:41 PM   #30
Average Joe
 
MrJoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Mechanicsville, MD
Posts: 689
I've tripped the generator breaker a couple times. I keep forgetting the electric water heater is on when starting the microwave with my 15K Ac/Heat pump running. Never had the generator stop. Does the panel flash a code?
__________________

__________________
Joe and Karen
2014 Sunseeker 2450sf

Southern Maryland and Beyond!

MrJoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
air conditioner, generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.