Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2015, 08:41 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: plymouth ma
Posts: 128
Ham rAdio in 3050s

Looking to install a dual bander in a 3050s 2013. looking for the best place to put an antenna and any problems with the power output. H R O said we should check with factory for any problems with placement and power outup of unit. I would think that ford would be the contact, and not forest river as the cab is ford. Someone must have put a radio in a unit already please reply back n1wnr keep on camping
__________________

__________________
oldnewguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 08:26 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Hoglou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 721
I am with ya. Running 2m handheld and would like to mount a proper antenna.
__________________

__________________
Hoglou westGA
KM4HQQ 146.640mhz
L'IL Foot" 2014 Sunseeker 2300
"Harry" the JK toad in the mirror
Hoglou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 08:32 PM   #3
Campground host Mo. State
 
Photogirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: St Charles Missouri
Posts: 62
Only advice is locate your antenna far enough away from tow vehicle onboard computer and any tuner/chip, It will cause tuner problems and transmit will lock on. W0FCG 73
__________________
Frank & Kathy & Daisy 2.0 Yorkie (Pack leader)
2008 Ram 6.7 Diesel, 4.10 diff., EGR valve delete, MBRP straight exhaust, Mini Max race tuner, K&N Cold air
2016 Crusader 321 RES Now riding on Goodyear Endurance USA tires
Days camped in 2015 111
Days camped in 2016 75
Photogirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 08:58 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Forbes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 703
Unless you are running 50 plus watts I would not think you will have a problem. I have an Kenwood duel band in my F350 with antenna mounted at center rear of cab and have never had a problem. Aslo have Kenwood 930s with SB200 amp in RV using a Eagle One vertical antenna. WB4FSN
__________________
Roger & Mary Forbes
WB4FSN
Little Lady (Dog)
2014 F350 / 2015 CC 36 CKTS
Days Camping 2014-96, 2015-130, 2016-126, 2017-42 and counting
Forbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2015, 11:57 PM   #5
Campground host Mo. State
 
Photogirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: St Charles Missouri
Posts: 62
Icom 2100H runs 55 watts on high.
__________________
Frank & Kathy & Daisy 2.0 Yorkie (Pack leader)
2008 Ram 6.7 Diesel, 4.10 diff., EGR valve delete, MBRP straight exhaust, Mini Max race tuner, K&N Cold air
2016 Crusader 321 RES Now riding on Goodyear Endurance USA tires
Days camped in 2015 111
Days camped in 2016 75
Photogirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2015, 12:29 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
coupevillefish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Coupeville, WA
Posts: 373
On my Georgetown, I put a "mirror" mount, dual band antenna on my luggage rack. Could have done the ladder. I can't remember right now if it is half or 3/8 wave but it doesn't stick up too much above the A/C. I ran about 30' of coax and found a path into the cabin. I have only used while parked with my Yaesu FT2900 but it would work with my HT. I rarely go more than 5 watts.
__________________
coupevillefish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2015, 07:38 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Forbes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 703
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photogirl View Post
Icom 2100H runs 55 watts on high.

Should not be a problem,
__________________
Roger & Mary Forbes
WB4FSN
Little Lady (Dog)
2014 F350 / 2015 CC 36 CKTS
Days Camping 2014-96, 2015-130, 2016-126, 2017-42 and counting
Forbes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2015, 04:37 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Iowa
Posts: 332
I mount a Cushcraft AR270 dual band on a pole and attach the pole to the ladder. Is a half wave antenna (do not need a ground plane). Takes a few minutes to install once situated at the campsite.
__________________
2017 Berkshire XL 40A & 2017 Ford Focus SE
2014 Flagstaff 5th Wheel - 8528IKWS (For Sale)
I Built and Fly - Van's Aircraft RV-12
MartyQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2015, 05:50 PM   #9
Member
 
JnScattle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: TN
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Forbes View Post
Unless you are running 50 plus watts I would not think you will have a problem. I have an Kenwood duel band in my F350 with antenna mounted at center rear of cab and have never had a problem. Aslo have Kenwood 930s with SB200 amp in RV using a Eagle One vertical antenna. WB4FSN
Forbes, could you share a pic of your Kenwood mounted in the RV; interested to see location and how mounted. Thanks...//jmc
__________________
______________________________
J & S
Traveling the world with Uncle Sam!
2014 2500HD Duramax Crew 4WD
2015 Forest River Salem 30QBSS
JnScattle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2015, 01:25 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
tomfmcs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Colorado
Posts: 21
You could mount these diamond mounts near the front of the hood just inboard of head lights. These mounts adjust on three axis's. Unscrew antennas when you open the hood. Short cable runs also. I'd put ferrite chokes at each end.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	002.jpg
Views:	68
Size:	342.5 KB
ID:	95681  
__________________

__________________
tomfmcs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
305, 3050s, radio

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.