Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-24-2015, 10:00 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 83
Has anyone set up a switch to turn their generator on from up front?

My current set up is the start stop is over the refrigerator. I would like to put one in the dashboard as well
__________________

__________________
2014 SunSeeker 3170DS
Ford F-450
drakethib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2015, 11:10 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wesslvm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 202
Why would you want that, so you can turn off while driving?


2014 Sunseeker 3050S

Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
2014 Sunseeker 3050S
Honda CRV (TOAD)
wesslvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 07:20 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 83
When we pull into parks I always have to stop before we get there , get out and go turn it off. Call it lazy but my class a had it and it was handy
__________________
2014 SunSeeker 3170DS
Ford F-450
drakethib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 07:58 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 188
I'll admit I've thought of it too when boarding fairies, tunnels, and boarder check points. I don't touch it for gas stations, but some do.
__________________
2011 Sunseeker 3170DS - 30,000 miles explored
funfinder5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 01:23 PM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 21
Traveling with Gen on

do you typically travel with the generator turned on?

thanks.
__________________
bfrtech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 01:43 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
bubbles's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,562
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakethib View Post
My current set up is the start stop is over the refrigerator. I would like to put one in the dashboard as well
Hook up switch in parallel with existing switch. Route wiring from either genny or existing switch (or splice into switch harness somewhere) to wherever you want to install in cab. Routing is usually the hardest part. Might try getting identical switch to what is installed now.
__________________
bubbles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 07:00 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbles View Post
Hook up switch in parallel with existing switch. Route wiring from either genny or existing switch (or splice into switch harness somewhere) to wherever you want to install in cab. Routing is usually the hardest part. Might try getting identical switch to what is installed now.
Thought of doing so just what you mentioned. The genny is much closer then the switch but the wiring would be easier unless there is some kind of quick connect. Current switch I have is in the next picture.
__________________
2014 SunSeeker 3170DS
Ford F-450
drakethib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 07:00 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Beaumont, TX
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by bfrtech View Post
do you typically travel with the generator turned on?

thanks.


More times then not yes we do.
__________________
2014 SunSeeker 3170DS
Ford F-450
drakethib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 09:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wesslvm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by drakethib View Post
More times then not yes we do.
I rarely have my generator running while traveling so this is not a need for me. I'm told some have issues with needing the coach air conditioning while driving due to the hot weather.

We live in the Northeast and to date I haven't had to do that. One factor could be that my unit is all white. Also, we have only traveled with people in the coach seating once.

I would think the wiring could be done fairly easily from the generator's local switch. I would imagine the stop function between the two existing switches is wired in series and the start function is in parallel. Hardest part would be routing the cable.

Wes
__________________
2014 Sunseeker 3050S
Honda CRV (TOAD)
wesslvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2015, 07:32 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
CAT-RN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 6,147
Many coaches have the generator switch on the dash. Mine does. Running a set of wires to a new switch there should not be too hard. We start & stop our generator while driving on a regular basis.

Russell
__________________

__________________
CAT-RN is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
generator

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 PM.