Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-09-2014, 11:13 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 213
Help Installing Brake controller on New 2014 E-450 Super Duty 2860DS

I could use some Help / Info on Installing Brake controller on New 2014 Ford E-450 Super Duty 2860DS. Has anyone had actual experience doing this on the 2014? I have seen where they say the prewired plug is in 3 or 4 different locations or non existent even. I've looked by emerg brake and don't see any open plug ins. some say behind little change dish on dash. just wondering how hard it is to get to behind the change dish. My wife will go nuts if I start removing stuff from dash. Any help , tricks, tips would be appreciated!

Also have been looking at Tekonsha 90195 Ps Electronic Brake control and 3034P pre wired cable. I will be towing up to high of max weight and as low as 1500#.. has anyone had experience with this setup on the E-450 and a Sunseeker?

Thanks for any help

Ron
__________________

__________________
asparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 11:53 AM   #2
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,098
The brake controller harness is behind the little change/storage bin in the upper part of the dash. Just look at any picture of the Ford stock brake controller and you'll see that is where it is located.

You can sort of see it in this picture. Too small really...but right next to the change holder is the Ford brake controller. We have installed some for a rental dealer and we just put them right in the change holder, sticking out.
__________________

__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 12:46 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 213
Thanks BC, but don't see a picture

Ron
__________________
asparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 03:52 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
fonzie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario
Posts: 3,237
Have a look at post #2, hope that it for you.

E450 trailer brake connector - iRV2 Forums
__________________
Fonzie
2011 Rockwood 8319SS with ProPride 3P hitch/GoodYear Marathons/TST TPMS 507
2008 F250 Lariat CC SB 6.8L V10 4.10 axle ratio (NITTO TERRA GRAPLER G2 LT275/65R20E)
Yamaha 3000iseb generator:Progressive Ind. EMS-HW30C : Eastern Ontario
Nights Camped: 2011(21) 2012(36) 2013 (17) 2014 (18) 2015 (18) 2016 (36) 2017 (32)
fonzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 04:45 PM   #5
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,098
See, that's where all the confusion comes in. Different model years have different locations.

This is the picture I was trying to upload. As you can see (barely) where the coin holder was, there are some switches and the brake controller is to the left of that. I think normally the coin holder just gets smaller.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	ctv14_feat_capability_comfort.jpg
Views:	1397
Size:	48.8 KB
ID:	49519  
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:02 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by asparky View Post
I could use some Help / Info on Installing Brake controller on New 2014 Ford E-450 Super Duty 2860DS. Has anyone had actual experience doing this on the 2014? I have seen where they say the prewired plug is in 3 or 4 different locations or non existent even. I've looked by emerg brake and don't see any open plug ins. some say behind little change dish on dash. just wondering how hard it is to get to behind the change dish. My wife will go nuts if I start removing stuff from dash. Any help , tricks, tips would be appreciated!


Thanks for any help

Ron
The change compartment is a bit of a bugger to get out. Believe it or not, it is easier to push it out from behind - the trick is how to push from behind. I pulled my Magnadyne radio (pretty easy if you have to din tool that is supposed to be in the bag of "stuff"). Once the radio is removed you can reach around the vent duct and push on the box from there. You will see the brake control factory harness just kinda sitting there with the harness for the accessory switches (option adds).
You can even pop out the vent grills to give even more working room. The dash system in the Ford is among the easiest I've ever worked with.

Bobby
__________________
bgilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2014, 10:45 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 213
OK Guys I couldn't get the coin holder out, and didn't want to break it.. It is a bugger!.. So I unsnapped the top of the dash from left to right looking at it and pulled it very slightly out just enough to look inside. I didn't even have to unsnap the right clip. and there was the red plug. I Reached in and pulled the plug out of the top of the dash. Then checked the 4 wires on the plug for correct voltages. Plugged a cable into it and fished it down and out of the bottom left corner of the console. Hopefully its ready to go, just got to get a controller and decide where to mount it... Any suggestions? On the controller and where to mount it?

Pretty easy after figuring out what's what!!

Thanks for all the Help

RON
__________________
asparky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 06:41 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by asparky View Post
Any suggestions? On the controller and where to mount it?

Pretty easy after figuring out what's what!!

Thanks for all the Help

RON
I would try to modify the OEM compartment to get the Tekonsha Prodigy installed. Or you could hunt down a Ford OEM to properly fit.
I wouldn't below the dash - knee panel area. It's already fairly crowded down there and the isn't much of anything solid to mount it to.
__________________
bgilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 10:05 AM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: texas
Posts: 72
I mounted mine in the coin holder. cut a whole in the rear for the plug to go through.
__________________
2014 sunseeker 3170dsf V10
cruiserjohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-10-2014, 04:30 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
rbetzwieser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 143
I modified the coin holder and mounted mine inside it also. It keeps it within easy reach.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Forest River Forums mobile app
__________________

__________________
rbetzwieser is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
2014, brake control, controller, brakes

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:57 AM.