Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-26-2014, 01:55 PM   #11
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 95
I had to replace my WFCO converter having experienced similar problems. I think the clue is that if the batteries charge with the motor running but not on shore power (or with the generator running), then the converter is the most likely problem. The consensus seems to be that Progressive Dynamics converters are better than WFCO, however they are not designed to be easily installed as a replacement.
__________________

__________________
davegood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2014, 11:37 AM   #12
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,089
Progressive dynamics supposedly sells a direct replacement to the WFCO converter. At least on the "all in one" model.

Otherwise if it is a "remote mount" (converter is installed separately from the breaker box) then it should be pretty easy to swap the two.

4600 Series Upgrade or Replacement Power Converters from Progressive Dynamics
__________________

__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 06:25 AM   #13
Junior Member
 
blythepyrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 24
Wait. ..am I to understand you can't just swap out any old converter? It seems like this should be a fairly standard item. Can anyone explain what the limitations are? Size, power supply, amperage? I wanted one by Go Power in anticipation on converting to solar.

Yes mine is a remote mount in the cargo bay. Can't wait to crawl in there....not
__________________
Pyrate
Fuzzy Bear (Newf) & Emmett (ginger cat)
2009 Sunseeker 2900 & Jeep Cherokee Sport
blythepyrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 07:09 AM   #14
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by blythepyrate View Post
Wait. ..am I to understand you can't just swap out any old converter? It seems like this should be a fairly standard item. Can anyone explain what the limitations are? Size, power supply, amperage? I wanted one by Go Power in anticipation on converting to solar.

Yes mine is a remote mount in the cargo bay. Can't wait to crawl in there....not
Amp differences 45 55 60 70 100
Size configurations
12 v or 24 v


Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 02:06 PM   #15
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,089
The Progressive that we use is 60 amp rated. That covers our most electrically demanding unit (3170) with everything on. (in theory)
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 02:13 PM   #16
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by bclemens View Post
The Progressive that we use is 60 amp rated. That covers our most electrically demanding unit (3170) with everything on. (in theory)
Imo the 60 amp is a good choice for any unit.

Toy haulers seem to have 100's

Turbs
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 02:18 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Witch Doctor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Clarksville Va.
Posts: 7,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by bclemens View Post
The Progressive that we use is 60 amp rated. That covers our most electrically demanding unit (3170) with everything on. (in theory)
I'm sure you are talking about the the charge rate? If the OP put in a 90 amp he would only charge faster if i'm correct, is that true? Those figures that Turbs quoited where for charging off of shore or generator. More amps less time to reach 90%. I understand this is a Sunseeker forum but batteries are batteries. If I was boondocking I would want to run the generator the less I can to get to 90%. Is this a true statement (in theory)?...I wish we had a Rockwood rep like you, you go way above to help people out. I like that, and also learn a lot...
__________________
Rockwood #8289 WS 2012
F250 6.0 / Husky 16k
With 4 point leveling system
Witch Doctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 02:22 PM   #18
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,089
I think the way the engineers size it is based on every 12v device operating at one time. What is the worst case scenario, then sized off of that.

3170 has all the lights, dash radio, front TV, outside TV, kids TV, kids DVD, bedroom TV/DVD, compartment lights and any other 12V device I'm not thinking of.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 05:00 PM   #19
Junior Member
 
blythepyrate's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 24
I just ordered Progressive Dynamics (PD4655V) 55 Amp Converter/Charger

I'm assuming this will fit and work well with my Sunseeker, based on the comments here.

Does anyone know if I can get a head start by taking the old one out now but still be able to use the 12 v system? Not sure if taking out the converter will break the 12v system circuit. Of course if it's not working anyway.....

Thanks for all the great input!

Alison
__________________
Pyrate
Fuzzy Bear (Newf) & Emmett (ginger cat)
2009 Sunseeker 2900 & Jeep Cherokee Sport
blythepyrate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2014, 05:46 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 6
Hello, I'm new to the forum. I just joined half an hour ago because of this very issue, Batteries not charging on shore power. However, my problem is that we have changed out our converter three times in the past 15 months. All three times have been diagnosed by RV dealers/technicians and all three times the converter has been at fault. The converters are lasting on average eight months. First replaced in July 2013, next time was February 2014 and now October 2014. The unit is a 2008 Forest River Georgetown XL. We are living the good life full time since December 2013.
I sent a call out this morning to Forest River Customer Service Bus Division, no response yet. Fortunately we are still getting warranty, I don't know how much longer.
Thanks for any tips or advice.
Ralph
__________________

__________________
RandL is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
charging, power, battery

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06 PM.