Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-04-2014, 09:19 AM   #1
Junior Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 1
Model 2860DS 2014 - Furnace does not ignite

HELP. On our first outing with brand new unit. Guess we should have tried things a bit more before leaving dealer. Read a lot of the comments on here and nothing works yet. Turn thermostat to furnace and setting on 80F. About 36F outside right now in New Orleans! Furnace comes on as the manual states and runs a few mintues. I can hear the ignitor trying to start the flame. I believe it does that a few times and then the motor eventually shuts off. No heat. I presume the burner is not starting. We have turned the burner on the stove to ensure gas flowing. Already tried turning the main propane on and slowly back on. Even tried disconnecting from main AC supply and ran generator. Still does the same thing. Am 600 miles from dealer so hope it is just something I'm doing wrong with this new unit. Need heat!! Too cold for heat pump to really work. Ideas?


kopstein99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 05:03 PM   #2
Senior Member
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 128
You can use the heat pump at 36. I ran our heat pump the other day at 20 degrees in Kentucky and was comfortable inside. I know the propane heat is hotter but at those temps I could wait until I got to a dealer.

markangie24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 05:39 PM   #3
Junior Member
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Who knows
Posts: 29
If you can gain access to the furnace and your comfortable with tools check the ignitor for a proper arc. Make sure it is popping across the propane nozzle and not to some other area close by. If you're not comfortable with checking or adjusting that you can always go to the nearest store and get an electric space heater until you can get warranty service. I suggest only using the space heater with shore power as the Onan generator will suck down some fuel.
kodiak ak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2014, 07:53 PM   #4
Senior Member
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 492
Two thoughts, new unit - did the dealer actually fill the tank with propane. Most dealers will start you off with your first tank of propane but it could have air in it from the leak check.

If full propane tank, were the lines purged (after you made certain the tank valve is open)? You need to run the cooktop to get purge the air out the line. You will still have air in the branch lines so it will take a couple re-starts.

bgilly is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 AM.