Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-12-2012, 02:26 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Not receiving cable tv

2012 Sunseeker 2450. We hooked up to cable for the first time and the scan is not finding channels. On antenna it works fine. The people around us are receiving cable and I tried two different hook ups so it's not their cable problem. TV is Toshiba. Anyone have any idea's ?
__________________

__________________
hankwilliamsjrjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
kenandterry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Eastern Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,331
There's usually a menu for the television itself to connect to CABLE input versus ANTENNAE, and I don't believe you need to have the booster button "ON" when running through the cable connection.
__________________

__________________

Ken and Terry
2010 Georgetown 330TS being pushed by our
2017 GMC Terrain toad (4 wheels down)
kenandterry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 02:47 PM   #3
Hob
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 279
Turn off the power to the amplifier for the antenna. There is a little button around the cable and antenna input that when pushed will turn off the antenna amplifier. When that goes off the cable will come through and should work..
__________________
Hob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 03:54 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Thank you for your responses. All of this has been done but when you scan it finds no channels.
__________________
hankwilliamsjrjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 04:01 PM   #5
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Did you find the button on the wall amp that you need to switch off (no light)?

Did you select "cable" when you set the TV to scan and not "AIR"

Did you use the "cable" input on the camper and not "Satellite" (see a possible photo)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CBL and SAT inputs.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	52.7 KB
ID:	22251   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCF1378.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	50.4 KB
ID:	22253   Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG01912-20120826-1731.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	44.6 KB
ID:	22254  
__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:07 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 18
Switch is off. Tv is set to cable and I only have one input that says cable. ? Beats me. Thanks for the response & pics. Still no channels coming in.
__________________
hankwilliamsjrjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:33 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Lebanon MO
Posts: 150
Assuming all is good with the rv and television, ask your neighbor if you could hook your cable up to his box to test. I have been to places where the cable just was not working on the camp site. Some camp sites have two cable hook ups.
__________________
Flagstaff 8528 ckss fiver
2008 Ford f350 dually 4x4 desiel
racerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 05:38 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
rattleNsmoke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Western Connecticut
Posts: 1,571
Run a coax directly to the back of your TV set. See if you have service. If so, you have a problem in your camper.
__________________
2010 Cedar Creek 5th Wheel 34SATS "The Beast"
2006 Ford F350 Lariat 6.0L Diesel
2003 Harley Heritage Softail "Hogzilla"
1986 Marriage to "Wifey" (patience of a saint)
rattleNsmoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:21 PM   #9
Anacortesians
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Anacortes, WA
Posts: 1,167
If it's Comcast cable TV, you need one of their converter boxes. They use a different digital standard than over-the-air transmissions. We're on Comcast cable at the S&B, so we're familiar with it.

We stayed at a CG in SW Washington this season and they had just been blindsided by Comcast changing their signal without telling them. They were told (after the change) that they'd need a Comcast converter box for every site and that it would have to be put very close to the RVer's TV and the RVer would need a Comcast remote to run it. AFAIK, the range of those remotes is fairly short and might not even reach to the converter if it's outside.

If the CG risks providing a set-top box and remote to each guest, the manager has to get that stuff back as the guest departs so the next guest at the site can have cable. What a hassle. I guess, if you HAVE to be able to watch TV on your travels, you might have to get your own satellite system or rely entirely on OTA signals. I don't know if taking a converter and remote of your own would work, but I don't think you can get one from Comcast unless your S&B is on a Comcast system. We have to have a converter on each of the three TV sets in the house. There hasn't been any interference between the remotes because all three TVs are different brands.

I suspect that CG cable TV is going to disappear soon anywhere with Comcast cable service.
__________________
Frank and Eileen
No longer RVers or FR owners
F and E Damp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 06:42 PM   #10
Site Team - Lou
 
Herk7769's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: South Eastern PA
Posts: 21,169
Quote:
Originally Posted by hankwilliamsjrjr View Post
Switch is off. Tv is set to cable and I only have one input that says cable. ? Beats me. Thanks for the response & pics. Still no channels coming in.
When you rescan your channels there should be a setting for "AIR" or "CABLE"

Otherwise your TV will not know which internal tuner to use to scan.
The "over the air" tuner is ATSC and the cable tuner is QAM; both are in all TV receivers.
__________________

__________________

Lou and Laura with Bella - German Short Hair Pointer
2008 GMC Sierra 2500HD Crewcab SB Allison Duramax
2010 Flagstaff 8526RLWS - Superglide 3300
HAM CALLSIGN - KC3FFW
Herk7769 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34 AM.