Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2015, 05:07 PM   #21
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,098
I'd say it was the lights if we hadn't been running them for a year now. I have yet to notice any interference. It's got to be something more than that.
__________________

__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 08:19 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 301
I took the worst one off and powered it by a tool battery. It definitely gives off RF, but without the RV wiring it doesn't carry too far. More to come as I mess with it.
__________________

__________________
2014 Sunseeker 2300 Chevy
Snowman9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2015, 08:31 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 973
Hey all, I get noise from my LEDs as well. Particularly the ones closest to the radio. I've install a 12 v noise filter/suppressor on the power supply to the radio. I also installed ferrite chokes on all light fixtures. NO difference. I just live with it now.
__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 11:33 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by RPAspey View Post
Hey all, I get noise from my LEDs as well. Particularly the ones closest to the radio. I've install a 12 v noise filter/suppressor on the power supply to the radio. I also installed ferrite chokes on all light fixtures. NO difference. I just live with it now.
Then your noise isn't coming by way of power/ground distribution, it is through your antenna. Did you think to put a choke on it? Many of the antennas used on RVs have very poor cabling with only the most minimal of shielding. Speakers can also transmit the noise so if you have a ceiling speaker near an LED fixture and you are getting noise, you may need chokes on your speaker wires too!
__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 11:38 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowman9000 View Post
geotex, thanks. From what I've seen on various cords before, both + and - go through the choke, right?

If by any chance you can show a link to one that you think is the right size for a 14-2 DC cable, please do.
Yes, you snap them over the entire cable. Regarding size, take a look here after you measure your wiring (I can't say for sure because the OD of 14-2 can vary depending upon insulation type and rating and if you also have jacketing:

Ferrite Cable Cores- Snap On - Laird-Signal Integrity Products - Cores for Cable and Wiring | Online Catalog | DigiKey Electronics
__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2015, 07:42 PM   #26
Senior Member
 
RPAspey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: central PA
Posts: 973
I know my antenna isn't grounded. But I need to get up on the roof to remove the antenna to ground it. When doing so, I'll also add the chone.
__________________
2000 Cherokee 29BH with 6V batteries, LED lights & 400 watts of solar power, flipped axles and raised. 2007 Tundra 5.7L DC-LB with lots of mods. C-co, 8/158th AVN Maint.
RPAspey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2015, 07:35 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 301
geotex, do I care about the impedance or test frequency?
__________________
2014 Sunseeker 2300 Chevy
Snowman9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 10:26 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
geotex1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 730
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snowman9000 View Post
geotex, do I care about the impedance or test frequency?
In an ideal world, the impedance of the choke is considered in the design of the circuit. Since we're working with several unknowns, it's not really practical here. You may need to do a little trial and error - such as putting a choke at both ends of a wire run - but because the chokes are relatively low cost it's an approach that's not too out there.
__________________
geotex1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2015, 10:48 PM   #29
Senior Member
 
B and B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Wilmot Twp, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8,604
Rockwood techs replaced 8 fixture in my Fifth Wheel last summer. All caused interference on TV.
__________________

__________________
B and B is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
led, light, radio

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.