Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-25-2015, 08:53 AM   #11
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,098
We've talked about offering some sort of direct connection for each TV, but that is not without its own problems.

1. No matter what, we have to wire coax to each TV for "over the air" reception. In the past, we could also piggy back this same coax wire for Sat, Cable and Signal distribution for DVD.

2. Times have changed. Dish just stopped offering coax OUTPUT on their receivers. Only RCA, Composite and HDMI. So using the coax for anything other than OTA is about over.

3. HDMI would be our preferred choice, but its not cheap. To wire for that we would need to have an HDMI switch box. Now that means we run an HDMI box with one input and 4 outputs that would run to each TV.

4. Most head units still don't offer HDMI output. So the DVD is going to be restricted to one TV only (unless we also offer RCA cables).

So in theory, to accommodate everyones needs we would need to wire coax to each TV location, then wire RCA to each TV location AND HDMI to each tv location. Unless we set this up as an option, that means 100% of the people pay for this when a much smaller percentage will ever use it.
__________________

__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 04:28 PM   #12
Old Timer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sunny southern NM
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by bclemens View Post
We've talked about offering some sort of direct connection for each TV, but that is not without its own problems.

1. No matter what, we have to wire coax to each TV for "over the air" reception. In the past, we could also piggy back this same coax wire for Sat, Cable and Signal distribution for DVD.

2. Times have changed. Dish just stopped offering coax OUTPUT on their receivers. Only RCA, Composite and HDMI. So using the coax for anything other than OTA is about over.

3. HDMI would be our preferred choice, but its not cheap. To wire for that we would need to have an HDMI switch box. Now that means we run an HDMI box with one input and 4 outputs that would run to each TV.

4. Most head units still don't offer HDMI output. So the DVD is going to be restricted to one TV only (unless we also offer RCA cables).

So in theory, to accommodate everyones needs we would need to wire coax to each TV location, then wire RCA to each TV location AND HDMI to each tv location. Unless we set this up as an option, that means 100% of the people pay for this when a much smaller percentage will ever use it.
DirecTV has not had a "coax output" on their HD receivers for a while either. the solution to that is to use an RF convertor connected to the receiver with RCA or composite, feeding from the coax output to the antenna coax through a bidirectional splitter. The splitter is connected to the antenna coax pulled from the TV and the other two legs of the splitter connected one, back to the TV and two, to the RF output on back of the convertor. The splitter must be designated "bidirectional" to function properly. The antenna coax will then feed any secondary TV's in the unit. I use channel 3 to tune the satellite programs (on the bedroom TV). Actually simpler than it sounds. Works good if you want to use only one satellite receiver.

__________________

__________________
kentnjudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 05:47 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Boso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,198
How would you use the antenna for local news channels


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
i2015 sunseeker 3050s. 2007 saturn aura
Boso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 06:54 PM   #14
Old Timer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sunny southern NM
Posts: 63
[QUOTE=Boso;792523]How would you use the antenna for local news channels?

For local channels (any TV set) turn on the antenna booster, if so equipped, and tune the TV for local channels (autoprogram). Works just like normal. To use the remote TV's to pick up your satellite channels, the antenna booster must be off and tune the TV to CH 3 or whatever works for yours. As I mentioned previously, if you have a RF remote for the satellite receiver you can tune the receiver from anywhere in (or near) the rig, regardless of line of sight. Hope this gets you going. Somebody else got me headed this direction a few years ago. Of course the receiver is hooked to your main TV with HDMI or composite or component cables, HDMI being the preferred.

__________________
kentnjudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 07:25 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Boso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,198
Thanks have one question since all 3 tv's are 12v does that make a difference or are they 12v and 120v never thought about it has been covered up except for one trip in oct. And two visits for dealer repairs


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________
i2015 sunseeker 3050s. 2007 saturn aura
Boso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2015, 08:08 PM   #16
Old Timer
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Sunny southern NM
Posts: 63
[QUOTE=Boso;792606]Thanks have one question since all 3 tv's are 12v does that make a difference or are they 12v and 120v never thought about it has been covered up except for one trip in oct. And two visits for dealer repairs

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums


Shouldn't make any difference. However your satellite receiver and the RF convertor are both powered by 120 (AC).
__________________
kentnjudy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2015, 10:03 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Texas
Posts: 120
There is also the option of using one of the wireless HDMI devices.

They are pricey and aren't without the occasional issue but if you really don't want to mess with coax and would like a full HD signal at any TV with HDMI, just by plugging a device into the back, this could be an option.

To split your signal you'll need an HDMI splitter to plug the wireless transmitter into as well.

We've even used our wireless device to shoot a signal to our family's camper next to us. There are times when the wireless signal works better than other times so, just be aware it's a little wormy.

If I would have had the option to have had all the HDMI stuff done for me from the factory I would have taken it. Maybe there needs to just be an HDTV convenience package as an option from the factory?
__________________
howzball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 07:00 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
wesslvm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 202
Satellite cable

I use wireless hdmi xmtr/rcvr to feed bedroom TV and I have a HDMI cable run from bunk to outside TV for when I want to watch satellite outside. I use Pathway X2 portable on my roof, feed cable into park cable connector outside, and I have a patch cable inside to my receiver. I also carry long coax that I can run through passenger door for park cable TV.


2014 Sunseeker 3050S

Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________
2014 Sunseeker 3050S
Honda CRV (TOAD)
wesslvm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2015, 07:05 PM   #19
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,098
Now if you could just post part numbers, pictures, installation guides that would sure save me lots of future questions.
__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2015, 03:59 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Boso's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 1,198
Ok tried yesterday and today getting dish satellite thru cable inlet on rear side of 2015 sunseeker 3050s yes satellite is working it connected to house satellite tried different methods from rf converter to schematic shown by Bclemens I guess the best way for me is to go in cab door with flat wire but still won't be able to get in bedroom or outside entertainment has any one wired a 3050 that has the same hook as I doClick image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1427659103.905314.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	189.5 KB
ID:	72456
Name:   ImageUploadedByForest River Forums1427659164.921950.jpg
Views: 131
Size:  52.1 KB


Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
i2015 sunseeker 3050s. 2007 saturn aura
Boso is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:59 PM.