Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2013, 11:07 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: plymouth ma
Posts: 146
Question satillite radio

bought a sunsseker 3050s with what seems to be a radio satillite ready. can not get the unit to display the numbers to activate. a note in the glove compastment said six monhts free radio. dealer said i need to buy a tuner and antennae to get satillite radio. has anyone done this, what is the cost and how do you hook it up thanks in advance oldnewguy
__________________

oldnewguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:22 PM   #2
Now a "Top Member"
 
EdJunior's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Roman Forest, TX
Posts: 1,830
Is this a new or used unit? Was the satellite radio supposed to come with the option package for the unit? Need some more info.
__________________

__________________
Ed and Sharon
2010 Wildcat 28RKBS
2019 Ford F-250 XLT - AWESOME Truck!

I thought I was wrong once, but I was wrong!
EdJunior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 12:27 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: plymouth ma
Posts: 146
radio

brand new 2013 does not list radio, just satillite ready has nav and camera and other stuff just says ready
oldnewguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 01:45 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
mjones12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Lexington, NC
Posts: 2,358
I think maybe it means it's pre-wired for satellite TV. Could that be it?
__________________
2018 Coachmen Apex 249 RBS
2010 Silverado LT 5.3 V8


The world is a great book, of which those who never stir from home
read only a page. - St. Augustine
mjones12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 02:00 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
osgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 112
I just bought a 3010ds and plan on setting my sat radio up tonight. I'll have to see how it goes and repost what I find. If you have the DVD, nav and camera it should have the sat. You should see a tiny little black box on the dash in front of the driver by the windshield. That is the sat antenna.
osgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 04:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cobbs Creek, VA
Posts: 201
unfortunately that little black box on the dash is the gps antenna. The 'unfortunate' relates to the fact that the cab shields the antenna enough that gps drop out is a problem. On ours, at least, the sat radio is an option. If you get the radio, the integrated system will handle it.
Geri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 05:12 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
osgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 112
Yes.... Duh... You are correct about the antenna. GPS.
osgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 06:06 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Collinsville, IL
Posts: 830
The radio needs a satellite module plugged into it (jack on the back). Check your radio instructions for exact model, but I believe it is Sirius model 100. Available from Sirius XM, but cheaper on Amazon. Includes an antenna similar to GPS antenna. I routed it through door frame and under hood to front fender. Used touch up paint to paint it white to match cab color, so you can hardly see it.

After installation you have to enable it on radio setup menu. (I'm assuming you have the Magnadyne radio). Note that the module actually uses the XM channel lineup and can be shared on a plan if you have other XM radios.
__________________
2012 Forest River Sunseeker 2300 Chevy
RvBill3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2013, 08:31 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
osgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 112
I looked at my M4 this evening... no sat code... no sat module... that is fine with me. I usually connect my iPhone and listen to Pandora or Spotify anyway.
osgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 10:48 AM   #10
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 11,994
Yes, "Sat Ready" is a little misleading, I have covered this before.

When we were the only ones buying this radio we had them take the "sat ready" print off of the radio and we disabled the button. Now that other mfg's use it, they wanted it in there.

"Sat Ready" as you now know, just means you can control the tuner through the radio, with no additional "controller" needed. Of course you still need the antenna & receiver/tuner. It's sort of similar I guess to Satellite TV, where we provide a king dome dish...and you still need to provide the tuner.

I agree however, I connect via Bluetooth (Alas, my iPhone 5 has the new cable) and just stream music. I plug in via USB to charge.
__________________

__________________
Please READ the entire thread before posting to keep comments relevant.
Also, please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:40 AM.