Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-29-2013, 12:16 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Cobbs Creek, VA
Posts: 201
Sirrus Addition to Magnadyne system

The RV came with a six month trial for Sirrus, implying that it would work. We have Sirrus radio in car and house, and have mobile antenna for it, but Magnadyne unit doesn't have Sirrus option. Can it be added or does it have to be kludged in through "aux audio"?
__________________

Geri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 02:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Mohawk Valley of NY
Posts: 238
From what I understand you can add the module to enable Satellite radio. On my Sunseeker 2860 however, there is no pre-installed antenna. You would have to run a separate antenna.
__________________

KQ2N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2013, 04:38 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 9
I just picked up a 3170DS and it had the Ford Sirius insert for 6 months free - this is generic and not from Forest River - it comes with the Ford materials that are inserted into the Ford packet. If you had a Ford ESN(Radio ID), you would get 6 months free. However, the Magnadyne does not come with a SiriusXM tuner - if you look closely at the unit it is 'SiriusXM Ready' - on Amazon there is the tuner you need for $49.99 - Best Buy will match the price at your local store - the part you are looking for is SXV200. You would need to pull the radio out, plug the tuner in, then string the antenna through the dash and to the outside of the coach to get a signal.

Just did this myself this weekend - ran it behind the driver's seat, up the side of the slide out, and up to the very top of the coach - works very well.
dklane012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 07:51 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 254
I had my dealer install the Sirius XM tuner and antenna (on roof above front bunk area) before taking delivery. I use my satellite radio when camping so having the antenna on the RV's roof was important. Placing it on the dash would not work for me.
trwmodela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2013, 08:07 AM   #5
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 11,791
Warms my heart to see all these great, accurate responses. It's like a whole army of factory reps.

Just a little history, we used to have the white "Sirius Ready" located left off because we thought it was misleading. Apparently Magnadyne thought otherwise so put it back on there. So we started taking our the "ICON" on the screen for Satellite Radio.

If you have one of those units, just go into the setup screen and you can add that icon back in. 5365 is the pin code to get in there and add that icon back if its missing.
__________________
Please READ the entire thread before posting to keep comments relevant.
Also, please post questions as a "New Thread" (not private message) so that others can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps.https://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Forest River, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.