Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-22-2015, 12:14 AM   #1

Steering Stabilizer and Alignment

First, I want to thanks bclemens for all the info and support. I finally picked my 2015 3010DS on Thursday.

Since I pick it up on one of the coldest windy day in Toronto, after I drive it home I start to think about adding a "Steering Stabilizer".

As a newbie, I have a few questions.

First do we need one for the 2014/2015 E450 chassis, compare to older model, does ford already put a steering damper in it?

Second, if I choose to install one, should I do it now or wait till the break-in and do it with the alignment?

Third, would this mod affect the Ford warranty on the chassis?

Last, which brands of Steering Stabilizer would you recommend.

Thanks
karcarkar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 08:24 AM   #2

I recently purchased the Safe T Plus, and a Henderson rear trac bar. Haven't installed them yet, but am interested to see how they improve the drive. Under normal conditions I feel my 3170 drives really well. I got the rear trac bar for the windy condition days and for when trucks are passing by. The Safe T Plus is suppose to help with the over steering you can feel with those conditions. Also, it's good to have on in case of a blow out. Glad I hadn't put them on yet because we're trading in on a 3010, which will still work.
Brian217 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 09:09 AM   #3

On my 2011 3170 two of the best things I did was the alignment and the roadmaster steering stabilizer. The steering stabilizer is an easy install I did mine first then the alignment. I run my air bags at 60 to 70 psi witch helps keep the coach stable in winds and trucks passing so for me I don't feel the need for a rear trac bar.
lbrunning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2015, 02:59 PM   #4