Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-24-2015, 12:35 PM   #1

Sunseeker 3050SF - 5.7 mpg. Help!

Ok, I just filled my tank and found out my gas mileage was 5.7 miles per gallon!

I'm new to motorhomes, so could some of you wonderful folks please provide me some advice as to how I can get that number up a little more? I'd really appreciate it.

What gas mileage are other folks getting out of there ford class C motorhome?

The early bird gets the worm, but the second mouse gets the cheese
DoctorT68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 01:30 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorT68 View Post
Ok, I just filled my tank and found out my gas mileage was 5.7 miles per gallon!

I'm new to motorhomes, so could some of you wonderful folks please provide me some advice as to how I can get that number up a little more? I'd really appreciate it.

We just made a round trip from central Missouri to Colorado Springs, CO. We towed a 2013 Ford Focus(4100 lbs) behind our 2014 Forester 3051S. Our mileage was 7.15 mpg going out and 8.08 mpg coming back. We averaged 63-65 mph and had dash a/c on -- did not run generator. This is typical mpg for our unit.
SkipnTerri is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 01:31 PM   #3

There is a post already on hereabout mileage mine went from 7.4 to 7.6 this trip 3050s pulling toad interstate driving

Sent from my iPhone using Forest River Forums
Old 07-24-2015, 02:43 PM   #4

Quote:

Seems a bit low unless your trip was mostly hills and short. I wouldn't worry unless you check it over at least a thousand miles and a couple fill ups. You should get 8 to 9 MPG. I have a 3120 which is normally about 8.5 with 4K toad and a little over 9 without. The 3050 is a heavier floorplan but it shouldn't impact mpg much.