Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2016, 08:52 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 301
As to the pendant, do you have the 9160 or the 9260? If the 92 series, you have the 3 stage charging, which for 99% of the owners that is all they need. If you want the pendant, it will let you switch between charging modes. If you have the 91 series, then the pendant is essential because it turns the 91 into a three stage charger. OEMs used to install the 91 series, while the 92 was aftermarket. I don't know what FR is using.

When I swapped from the WFCO to the PD, I mounted it on the floor of the kitchen cabinet next to the steps (and batteries). By doing that I eliminated something like 20 feet of cable, which is a big deal when it comes to getting the most out of a charger. My WFCO was in the rear compartment. I think now they are mounting them under the bed?

There is some work involved with relocating as I did. You have to have or install an outlet to plug the converter into.
__________________

__________________
2014 Sunseeker 2300 Chevy
Snowman9000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2016, 09:09 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreymhardy View Post
So I unplugged and ran the battery down to 12.4 volts which from the charts I've seen is somewhere between 75-80%. Turned everything off, plugged back in. Trimetric now reads about +14 on amps...so I assume that's the charging rate which still seems low to me, but I don't know what I should expect.
What does the Trimetric say for SOC and battery voltage? You can forget the charts now, you have a meter that tells you how much you have used and how much capacity you have left. I don't know how far the converter is from the batteries in your rig. On my class A it is about 20 feet and they used #6 wire. Strangely they ran both positive and negative cables when they should have simply used the chassis as the negative run. At 10 amps and 14.5 volts of boost at the converter the cable costs met about .2 volts per side. I am going to fix that at least eliminating the 20 feet of #6 for the ground with the chassis.

If your PD is in float mode that isn't too bad, if you had a Pendant you could force it into boost mode for a few hours, which would up the voltage to 14.5 and push more amperage to get the SOC back up fore quickly.
__________________

__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 07:31 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 136
Snowman: Not sure which one I have -- it's quite the ordeal to get to it for me, lift the bed, take out everything in the storage there and then lift that compartment out but I do want to know so I'll do that later today. I THINK it had 9260 on it, but I'll check.

Scott: I'm having difficulty getting the Trimetric to come off of it's "---" for percent charged unless I reset it when I THINK it's fully charged. I'm going to call them today and go through the settings. As far as their unit is concerned, I've never gotten it fully charged even after 12 hours charging overnight when it was only down to roughly 20%. I would say my battery bank is probably 25 feet from the converter.
__________________

2015 Sunseeker 3010DS
jeffreymhardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 08:36 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreymhardy View Post
Snowman: Not sure which one I have -- it's quite the ordeal to get to it for me, lift the bed, take out everything in the storage there and then lift that compartment out but I do want to know so I'll do that later today. I THINK it had 9260 on it, but I'll check.

Scott: I'm having difficulty getting the Trimetric to come off of it's "---" for percent charged unless I reset it when I THINK it's fully charged. I'm going to call them today and go through the settings. As far as their unit is concerned, I've never gotten it fully charged even after 12 hours charging overnight when it was only down to roughly 20%. I would say my battery bank is probably 25 feet from the converter.
Mine did that too when I installed it as well. I can't recall what happened but once I started out on the road and it saw 14.5 volts from my alternator is declared the bank at 100% and then started giving me SOC in real percentages. The "---" is its way of saying indeterminate I remember something from the manual about this as it doesn't have the data it needs when first installed. If you think about it, since it doesn't use the voltage reading to determine SOC, it is probably looking for a float charge voltage threshold before it decides that the bank is at 100% SOC and then starts SOC accounting from there.

I figured that, based on your floorplan, you had a long run from the converter as well. I measured the voltage drop from the negative converter terminal to ground and got something like .15 volts when charging at 13.5 volts and only about 10 amps. That would mean .3 volts total or more than 2%. I haven't yet chased the leads back to the battery bank to see why the negative isn't just chassis grounded in the rear compartment, but I want to drive as much current as I can with the generator running while boondocking. I will let you know what I find as I think that all of the rear converter floorplans suffer from this as well. I probably won't change out the 6 ga cable, but its pretty easy to ground the converter negative terminal to the chassis right in the back bay and eliminate half of the 6 ga run and half of the voltage drop in boost mode.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 12:32 AM   #15
MH Noob
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Part Timer
Posts: 138
Jeff - I am installing my Trimetric tomorrow - where did you place the shunt? Any pictures?
__________________
Slimjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 05:55 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Virginia
Posts: 136
To be honest it's laying on top of one of the batteries. It can't move because the cables are holding it firmly in place. Not ideal, but I haven't had a chance to rewire everything. I'm going to have to deal with it before next winter because I'm going to want to remove the batteries then...ugh.
__________________

2015 Sunseeker 3010DS
jeffreymhardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 06:29 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slimjc View Post
Jeff - I am installing my Trimetric tomorrow - where did you place the shunt? Any pictures?
Mine is on a the steel bulkhead with all the breakers and BCC but I have a different coach than you do. However, if I had seen this idea before I installed I would have done it this way. Bracket is not for sale but seems that the guy made it by flattening and bending a piece of 3/4" copper pipe. Clean, easy and secure. Plenty of current carrying capacity. ShuntDSCN1866-Small.jpg Photo by catraveler | Photobucket
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 10:04 AM   #18
MH Noob
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Part Timer
Posts: 138
Scott -

Has anyone contacted Trimetric to ensure they are cool with this? Seems simple and easy and given the tight quarters - it saves two runs of 2/0 into the coach for space.....
__________________
Slimjc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 10:11 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Englewood FL
Posts: 1,587
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slimjc View Post
Scott -

Has anyone contacted Trimetric to ensure they are cool with this? Seems simple and easy and given the tight quarters - it saves two runs of 2/0 into the coach for space.....
Oh, they won't care.It isn't even their shunt. As long as its wired correctly it is fine. I agree...no new cables needed! Simple, clean and well supported.
__________________

2015 335DS
ScottBrownstein is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 10:12 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Garrette's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Posts: 956
Does the Trimetric come with a shunt?


Sent from my iPad using Forest River Forums
__________________

__________________
Garrette is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
converter

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42 AM.