Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2013, 04:47 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
NCIC105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 139
Volume using satellite

When we hook up our directv satellite, we get a great signal strength but the volume in so low we have to turn the TV all the way up. If the air comes on you can't hear TV well as volume is not as loud as it should be.

We have a sat inlet and utilizing the switcher that came with our 2013 3050S.

Same on front, back and outside TV's.

Anyone have an idea?
__________________

__________________
NCIC105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 05:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
litgrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: mid Michigam
Posts: 106
What input of the tv are you using? If it's coming from the a/v amplifier your volumn is controlled by that.
__________________

__________________
litgrep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2013, 07:41 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
NCIC105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 139
It will only work if the TV is put to channel 3

Unless I'm missing something...
We ran it to Sat in on the switcher
__________________
NCIC105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 12:31 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 492
You are using the satellite box - correct? I know some s-boxes have an audio control on them that you have to adjust. At least my older box did and when I powered it off I had to use the remote to run it back up.
Check too that you are in the correct input connection to the Magnadyne switch; either cable TV, AUX 1 or 2, not the antenna one - that one is amplified in the switch.

Bobby
__________________
bgilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 07:55 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
NCIC105's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 139
I'm using one of the newer sat boxes..No volume adj....We are hooked it up to the park cable as we never use the cable....
__________________
NCIC105 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 08:09 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Okeechobee, FL
Posts: 175
I complained to many folks about this exact problem. The bottom line is that this has been a known problem to Directv for several years and supposedly because the number of units in the RV world
are minimal, they choose to do nothing about it.
__________________
Bob & Sue Rowan
Okeechobee, FL
2012 Coachmen Mirada 29DS (SOLD)
2015 Keystone Bullet Travel Trailer
2016 F-150 Lariat with Auto Trailer Backup
Dog = Morki (Yorkie-Maltese) - Zoe
Malabarbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 08:33 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Ford Idaho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Idaho
Posts: 9,840
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malabarbob View Post
I complained to many folks about this exact problem. The bottom line is that this has been a known problem to Directv for several years and supposedly because the number of units in the RV world
are minimal, they choose to do nothing about it.
This would be more than enough reason for me to buy another system and tell everyone I know to do the same.
I would trash talk them till the sun turns blue.
__________________
2016 F350 6.7L LB CC Reese 28K 2014 Chaparral Lite 266sab
"Those who would give up essential Liberty, to purchase a little temporary Safety, deserve neither Liberty nor Safety." 2014 19 days camping 2015 17 days camping201620 days camping
Ford Idaho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 09:04 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Baton Rouge
Posts: 492
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCIC105 View Post
I'm using one of the newer sat boxes..No volume adj....We are hooked it up to the park cable as we never use the cable....
Try straight connection to one of your televisions. The switch box might be modulating the digital audio mix.
Also, if your s-box has RCA output, connect to the switch using the one the Magnadyne DVD plugs into (although it does modulate that input too).

I have to take my unit in for some warranty work. Mine has a faulty switch box. The rear bedroom TV selection doesn't work.
__________________
bgilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 10:33 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
litgrep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: mid Michigam
Posts: 106
Am I understanding, your satelite antednna output is connected to your tailer cable input? If so that could be the problem. The splitter on the antenna amp doesn't have the bandwidth for the satelite signal. Go directly to the satelite box
__________________
litgrep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2013, 10:49 AM   #10
GM
 
bclemens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Elkhart, IN
Posts: 7,098
Can you diagram your set up? If your direcTV feed just hooks into the park cable (outside of the rig) and then from there into the switch box, from switch box to TV, there is a better way.

The best way is directly into the satellite receiver and from there use HDMI or composite cables directly to the TV you want. Then instead of turning on channel 3, it is just a different source. (AV1, HDMI 1, etc). Then you can use the audio out on the TV to feed it through the stereo. Unless if course you're talking about a bedroom TV…

In my experience, something designed to cover EVERYTHING (switch boxes and Obamacare for example) doesn't really do the best possible job for one specific situation. It's designed to be too generic.
__________________

__________________
PLEASE do not send questions via Private Message. Post questions in the forum as a new thread so that other users can benefit from the answers. Use Private Messages for sensitive information only. Our owners manuals are available online and via iPhone/Android Apps. http://www.dynamaxcorp.com/OnlineManual.aspx
bclemens is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
satellite

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:12 AM.