Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-20-2013, 07:06 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Waynesville
Posts: 12,019
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crusader View Post
Hope the outcome isn't like the government healthcare web site !!
Youroo!!
__________________

__________________
youroo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 07:16 PM   #12
phat phrog stunt crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: bethalto il
Posts: 1,422
Amen on the healthcare comparison. As far as downtime goes, pretend you are camping for 15 minutes and don't want the distraction.
__________________

__________________
dwaynerz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 07:17 PM   #13
B47
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Keller, Texas
Posts: 6,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crusader View Post
Hope the outcome isn't like the government healthcare web site !!
Watch it - you're getting close to crossing the no political discussion line here
__________________
B47 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 09:40 PM   #14
Site Team
 
Tech Admin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 53
We don't get paid enough to make a website like that.

Seriously though, we should be able to do this pretty quick, but there could be some DNS lag as we move around some records. Some people may see it down a little longer than others until their DNS updates.

If you find that the site is down for you but not others, try wiping your Windows DNS cache by executing this command in your run window:

ipconfig /flushdns

Should be starting in about 20-30 minutes folks.

- Jeff
__________________
Tech Admin is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-20-2013, 10:02 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Oaklevel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tech Admin View Post
We don't get paid enough to make a website like that.

Seriously though, we should be able to do this pretty quick, but there could be some DNS lag as we move around some records. Some people may see it down a little longer than others until their DNS updates.

If you find that the site is down for you but not others, try wiping your Windows DNS cache by executing this command in your run window:

ipconfig /flushdns

Should be starting in about 20-30 minutes folks.

- Jeff
Hope all goes well because I have no idea what you just said
__________________

2005 Dodge 3500 Cummins
2013 Puma Unleashed 356 QLB
1966 Mustang GT
1986 Mustang SVO
Sadie & Lillie Spoiled Rotten Boxers
Oaklevel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 07:46 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Ontario
Posts: 719
I had to log back on ...

Is that good ?
__________________
2009 Ford F-150 XLT/XTR 5.4l, CrewCab. long bed
2011 Surveyor SV-291
Goomph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 11:04 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: X
Posts: 2,781
I can access FRF on my desktop computer, but the iPhone goes to a page which has a message that the system is down for upgrade and will be available soon.
I get the same thing in the App and using Safari. I have tried resetting all network settings on the iPhone, and I reset my router. I get the same result whether going thru my WiFi network or ATT's LTE network. I will be opening a problem with the Help Desk.
__________________
BarryD0706 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 11:08 AM   #18
Phat Phrog Stunt Team
 
TURBS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Iowa
Posts: 34,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryD0706 View Post
I can access FRF on my desktop computer, but the iPhone goes to a page which has a message that the system is down for upgrade and will be available soon.
I get the same thing in the App and using Safari. I have tried resetting all network settings on the iPhone, and I reset my router. I get the same result whether going thru my WiFi network or ATT's LTE network. I will be opening a problem with the Help Desk.


I can only acces frf via a desktop.
I cannot access the app or the web version from my android phone.
__________________
TURBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 11:31 AM   #19
Fulltime family RVer
 
ependydad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 14,753
I had the same issue this morning, but later it resolved itself.

I hadn't seen Jeff's message before, but it makes sense why one would work versus another. Every web site name (aka "domain") has a numeric address behind of it (very loosely like towns and zip codes- it's easier to remember, "York, PA" instead of "17406"). There is a domain name (i.e. Forest River Forums - Forest River Owners Community) maps to a set of numbers (in this case, 162.243.61.9). The servers and hardware of the internet works off of these numbers whereas we people generally use the names.

Because it takes time for your computer, phone or tablet to do the translation (aka "name resolution") from name to number when you enter in Forest River Forums - Forest River Owners Community, this name resolution gets cached in a variety of places (your phone/tablet/computer itself, the router that connects you to Verizon, Comcast or other Internet provider, their servers and beyond). It's to help things be "more quick".

The problem comes when you switch the IPs behind the scenes which is exactly what it sounds like Social Knowledge did - they likely moved servers. It takes a period of time for the switch to occur in each device that handles name resolutions. Sometimes it's a set period of time, "this *remembered* record expires in 2 hours from this point in time" and sometimes it's a rolling period of time, "this *remembered* record expires 2 hours after the last time that it was used". (The 2 hours part is even configurable- each device decides how long it should live.)

It's that rolling timeout that can be problematic. If it's not working for you on your phone and you keep trying, that 1 to 2 to 24 hours can keep getting extended.

What Jeff recommended earlier was to flush your DNS caching. The problem is, the command that he provided was specific to Microsoft Windows. You might try restarting your devices and see if it helps. Otherwise, you can also reset network settings- I'm just not sure what side effects that has:
https://discussions.apple.com/message/20199616#20199616

Oh, and you Android users - I'm of ZERO help there. Here's a Google search that might help (the first Stack Overflow article seems to indicate that restarting may help you, too):
https://www.google.com/search?q=flus...hrome&ie=UTF-8

Good luck!
__________________
2012 Ram 3500 DRW/crew cab/long bed/4x4/4.10 gears pulling an early 2013 Sabre 36QBOK
Checkout my site for RVing tips, tricks, and info | My family and I have fulltimed since June 2015
ependydad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 12:01 PM   #20
Site Team
 
Janet H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Pacific NW
Posts: 2,768
Quote:
Originally Posted by f1100turbo View Post
I can only acces frf via a desktop.
I cannot access the app or the web version from my android phone.

You might try re-installing the mobile app if you still having trouble.
__________________

Janet H is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off



» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by




ForestRiverForums.com is not in any way associated with Forest River, Inc. or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:17 PM.